Problems of Christianity (0002), Paul's Conversion

in #christianity5 years ago (edited)

The Contradiction is the Proof of Fiction in Paul’s Conversion

If there are three different accounts of an event, it means, at least, two of the accounts are false, made up stories. If there would be four different accounts, then three of them would be false. In Acts 9, Acts 22 and Acts 26 there are three different versions of Paul’s conversion. Let’s see them:

Acts 9 Version

… The men traveling with Saul stood there speechless; they heard the sound but did not see anyone. Saul got up from the ground, but when he opened his eyes he could see nothing. So they led him by the hand into Damascus. For three days he was blind, and did not eat or drink anything.

(In Acts 9, the companions saw nobody and heard a sound)

Acts 22 Version

… My companions saw the light, but they did not understand the voice of him who was speaking to me. “‘What shall I do, Lord?’ I asked. “ ‘Get up,’ the Lord said, ‘and go into Damascus. There you will be told all that you have been assigned to do.’

(In Acts 22, the companions saw the light, and heard the sound)

Acts 26 Version

“On one of these journeys I was going to Damascus with the authority and commission of the chief priests. About noon, King Agrippa, as I was on the road, I saw a light from heaven, brighter than the sun, blazing around me and my companions. We all fell to the ground, and I heard a voice saying to me in Aramaic, ‘Saul, Saul, why do you persecute me? It is hard for you to kick against the goads.’ “Then I asked, ‘Who are you, Lord?’
“ ‘I am Jesus, whom you are persecuting,’ the Lord replied.

(In Acts 26, the companions all shocked by the bright light and fell to the ground)

What Does This Tell Us?

The differences in these three stories by the same author Luke tell us this: The Book of Acts is fiction and reality mixed. It is impossible today to tell what part of this Book of Acts was real and what part is the imagination of the author Luke.

Sort:  

No, the accounts differ because every account doesn't give every detail. So what?

In reality, the conversion of Saul is the greatest proof of the gospel and it's power to change people.

I used to think in a similar way to you. Then I went on a spiritual journey and my eyes and heart gradually opened. I had a Baptism of the Holy Spirit without even asking for it. I didn't even consider myself as having any faith or belonging to any religion. In fact, I was averse to all religion and didn't believe in a God. I had just about become open to having a Creator the day my life changed forever.

Only the Bible has accurately described the exact thing that happened to me and revealed the same Truths opened to me by the Holy Spirit in the ensuing time.

The Book of Acts is real.. but not everyone will see it immediately. I was anti-christianity so I didn't see anything until I was ready to be touched by God. The books in the Bible are written both as an account and as future prophecy, yet to be fulfilled even for us. A time will come when you might play a part in it.

Here's one clue regarding why there are differences with regard to the future prophecy: the differences reveal the things that will happen to different people at particular times. In addition, things we think of as an account might not only be an account.

Anyone who seeks God diligently will find Him and God will answer us directly if we have any questions and don't understand anything.

ps: I would recommend using the KJV or Greek Translation of the New Testament.

Good luck and peace be with you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 69500.15
ETH 3394.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75