Sort:  

I'm a biblical trinitarian because the Bible teaches that there's only one God but three distinct persons, who co-eternal and co-equal and the one God.

If one doesn't believe that Jesus is both man and divine there's no salvation possible. Jesus had to be man in order to take our place and he also had be eternal and have the same authority as the father has to be a sufficient substitute. Otherwise he isn't able to bear our sins against the eternal God with eternal consequences. The higher one is in authority the higher is the punishment. God's authority is immeasurable.

Thank you for your response. Do you have any verses that you feel best teaches the doctrine of three persons?

Eph 1:3-14 in the original greek is one sentence. It is a praising to the one God by speaking of the Father in verses 3-6, the Son 7-12 and Holy Spirit 13-14.

There's also the formula and command in Mt 28:19 to baptize in the name (singular) of THE Father and THE Son and THE Holy Spirit.

One can also go to Mt 3:16-17 where the Lord's baptism is depicted. The Son is there, being baptized, the Spirit ascending and the Father speaking.

In Joh 17:5 Jesus is praying to the Father to glorify him with the glory he had in his presence bevor the world existed.

That the Spirit is neither the Father nor the Son is evident from Joh 16:13-15. He is nevertheless God according to Acts 5:3-4.

The biblical doctrine of the Trinity entails three simple truths:

  1. There is only one (being of) God.
  2. There are three distinguishable Persons who are the one God (or are sharing the one being of God).
  3. These three Persons are co-eternal and co-equal but distinct in their roles.

Interesting approach on Eph 1:3-14. Thanks for taking the time.

Do you use Steemit.Chat or Discord?

No I'm sorry, I don't have any chat accounts setup but I could try to set up an account if you need to talk.

If you wouldn't mind.

I'd rather not speak about this publicly.

I'm new to this, but I just setup a steemit.chat under my same name, pretradition. If you can find me feel free to message me.

I messaged you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60984.38
ETH 3379.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47