Jesus is not I AM

in #christianity7 years ago

There is a myth floating around that Jesus claimed the title I AM and therefore he must be God. Let's start at the beginning and view the origin of the I AM title.

Exodus 3:14 And God said unto Moses, I Am That I Am: and he said, Thus shalt thou say unto the children of Israel, I Am hath sent me unto you.

In Exodus 3:14 God reveals His name for the first time to Moses; This is very important to remember. The name I AM is essentially an English translation of the tetragrammaton, which is the four letter name of God. From this point on, it is often translated in our English Bibles as LORD.

Some Christians today say that Jesus also claimed this divine title. Let's jump ahead to the book of John:

John 8:58 Jesus said unto them, Verily, verily, I say unto you, Before Abraham was, I am.

There are a couple of points to make on this verse. First, you will quickly notice that the context doesn't make sense for this to be a name. Jesus isn't saying that before Abraham was, he was I AM. He is saying that before Abraham was, He existed or that Abraham saw his coming. The pre-existance of Christ is another discussion altogether so I won't get into that here. He is not using the tetragrammaton and not calling himself God.

The second point to consider is that it would be odd to call himself I AM in reference to Abraham because God did not reveal His name to Abraham. This is may seem like a small point but it should be considered due to the context.

Exodus 6:3 And I appeared unto Abraham, unto Isaac, and unto Jacob, by the name of God Almighty, but by my name Jehovah was I not known to them.

The last thing to consider is that Jesus uses the Greek word "eimi", meaning I exist, I am. This word is used very frequently throughout the Bible and is never considered to be the name of God. Do we believe that Paul is calling himself God:

1 Corinthians 15:10 But by the grace of God I am what I am: and his grace which was bestowed upon me was not in vain; but I laboured more abundantly than they all: yet not I, but the grace of God which was with me.

Of course not, but he uses the same word as Jesus. Too many people try to read into the Bible what they wish to be there instead of reading the simplicity of what it actually says.

Jesus claimed to be many great things but God wasn't one of them. Nonetheless we must never forget that Jesus alone is the way, the truth, and the life. He is our Lord and Savior, the mediator between God and man. Jesus has many titles and should always be honored and revered. Jesus came to lead us to the Father, the True Living God. Believe in Jesus, love Jesus, and you will have life by the grace of the Father, our God.

I hope this is a blessing to you and encourages you to search out the truth of His word.

poet400.jpeg

Sort:  

(John 8:56-58 NIV) Your father Abraham rejoiced at the thought of seeing my day; he saw it and was glad." {57} "You are not yet fifty years old," the Jews said to him, "and you have seen Abraham!" {58} "I tell you the truth," Jesus answered, "before Abraham was born, I am!"

(John 1:1-18 NIV) In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God. {2} He was with God in the beginning. {3} Through him all things were made; without him nothing was made that has been made. {4} In him was life, and that life was the light of men. {5} The light shines in the darkness, but the darkness has not understood it. {6} There came a man who was sent from God; his name was John. {7} He came as a witness to testify concerning that light, so that through him all men might believe. {8} He himself was not the light; he came only as a witness to the light. {9} The true light that gives light to every man was coming into the world. {10} He was in the world, and though the world was made through him, the world did not recognize him. {11} He came to that which was his own, but his own did not receive him. {12} Yet to all who received him, to those who believed in his name, he gave the right to become children of God-- {13} children born not of natural descent, nor of human decision or a husband's will, but born of God. {14} The Word became flesh and made his dwelling among us. We have seen his glory, the glory of the One and Only, who came from the Father, full of grace and truth. {15} John testifies concerning him. He cries out, saying, "This was he of whom I said, 'He who comes after me has surpassed me because he was before me.'" {16} From the fullness of his grace we have all received one blessing after another. {17} For the law was given through Moses; grace and truth came through Jesus Christ. {18} No one has ever seen God, but God the One and Only, who is at the Father's side, has made him known.

(Mark 12:35-37 NIV) While Jesus was teaching in the temple courts, he asked, "How is it that the teachers of the law say that the Christ is the son of David? {36} David himself, speaking by the Holy Spirit, declared: "'The Lord said to my Lord: "Sit at my right hand until I put your enemies under your feet."' {37} David himself calls him 'Lord.' How then can he be his son?" The large crowd listened to him with delight.

(John 20:26-28 NIV) A week later his disciples were in the house again, and Thomas was with them. Though the doors were locked, Jesus came and stood among them and said, "Peace be with you!" {27} Then he said to Thomas, "Put your finger here; see my hands. Reach out your hand and put it into my side. Stop doubting and believe." {28} Thomas said to him, "My Lord and my God!"

And of course we have all the verses I posted the last time you posted heresy. You pick and choose the verses you think support your heretical beliefs. It's bad enough to believe lies. It's much worse to deceive others.

(Mark 12:35-37 NIV) While Jesus was teaching in the temple courts, he asked, "How is it that the teachers of the law say that the Christ is the son of David? {36} David himself, speaking by the Holy Spirit, declared: "'The Lord said to my Lord: "Sit at my right hand until I put your enemies under your feet."' {37} David himself calls him 'Lord.' How then can he be his son?" The large crowd listened to him with delight.

(John 20:26-28 NIV) A week later his disciples were in the house again, and Thomas was with them. Though the doors were locked, Jesus came and stood among them and said, "Peace be with you!" {27} Then he said to Thomas, "Put your finger here; see my hands. Reach out your hand and put it into my side. Stop doubting and believe." {28} Thomas said to him, "My Lord and my God!"

You seem to always go off topic. I am simply discussing the use of "I am" in John 8:58. I think even trinitarians should acknowledge that Jesus isn't claiming the name of God here. It's a mistake to do so.

The verses you listed can be answered with understanding but they are for another time. Forgive me if I have asked already, what is your religious affiliation?

Loading...

Great and simple term beloved. I invite you to take a look to my blog too. I am reading what you share on here.

I have noticed your work on here and have read some. I followed and will be sure to check out more.

No man can say Jesus is the LORD lest it is by His Spirit and power.

1 Corinthians 12:3 KJVS
Wherefore I give you to understand, that no man speaking by the Spirit of God calleth Jesus accursed: and that no man can say that Jesus is the Lord, but by the Holy Ghost.

Yes, by God's Spirit and power we are called unto Jesus.

Do you believe Jesus is the LORD? Have you been granted repentance of your position in the OP?

Here is another passage for you to chew on.

Matthew 22:41-46 KJVS
While the Pharisees were gathered together, Jesus asked them, [42] Saying, What think ye of Christ? whose son is he? They say unto him, The Son of David. [43] He saith unto them, How then doth David in spirit call him Lord, saying, [44] The Lord said unto my Lord, Sit thou on my right hand, till I make thine enemies thy footstool? [45] If David then call him Lord, how is he his son? [46] And no man was able to answer him a word, neither durst any man from that day forth ask him any more questions.

Also, including Strong's for your reference:

Strong's Number
G2962
Original Word
κύριος
Transliterated Word
kurios
Phonetic Spelling
koo'-ree-os
Parts of Speech
Noun Masculine
Strong's Definition
From κῦρος kuros (supremacy);
supreme in authority that is (as noun) controller; by implication Mr . (as a respectful title): - God Lord master Sir.

Do I believe Jesus is God, no of course not. The Bible teaches against this. Jesus is the Lord, not "LORD" (as a replacement for God's holy name.)

The Bible teaches against this.

Please, would you please provide the Scriptures from which you are making this claim?

The whole Bible. This is the foundation of Judaism and likewise Christianity; that God is one and the Father alone is God. There Is one God and one Mediator between God and men, the man Christ Jesus.

Don't let Roman Catholicism put a stumbling block before you. The truth is simple.

I am not a Roman Catholic but at least they did get it right with the Trinity. It's not that there are three gods in the Triune Godhead. It is three persons, Father, Son and Holy Spirit sharing One divine essence.

Another Scripture citation for you to ruminate on.
Colossians 2:8-9 KJVS
Beware lest any man spoil you through philosophy and vain deceit, after the tradition of men, after the rudiments of the world, and not after Christ. [9] For in him dwelleth all the fulness of the Godhead bodily.

Strong's Number
G2320
Original Word
θεότης
Transliterated Word
theotēs
Phonetic Spelling
theh-ot'-ace
Parts of Speech
Noun Feminine
Strong's Definition
From G2316; divinity (abstractly): - godhead.
Thayer's Definition
deity
the state of being God, Godhead
Usage by Word
godhead (1)
Usage by Book
Colossians

You are thinking in a trinitarian sense. The Bible was not written with a trinity god in mind. You quoted well because the doctrine of the trinity is a tradition of men.

The Godhead is the divine nature of God. Jesus did have the fullness of God's divine nature within him. The Holy Spirit is the power and presence of God, it is God's divine nature. Jesus received the fullness of the spirit at his baptism and God was with and within him. Jesus is not God, but has the fullness of God dwelling within him just as we hope to have.

Ephesians 3:19 And to know the love of Christ, which passeth knowledge, that ye might be filled with all the fulness of God.

I know you mean well and appreciate what you are doing, but please take a moment to consider these things. In the early church the majority of Christians believed the truth that God was one and not three. The trinity only prevailed through persecution and murder by the Roman Catholics. It is a pagan system of worship. God has always been one person, one being, whole and complete.

Our faith should not be in a mystery god but rather in the knowable God. The trinity is called a mystery because it is not understood and not found in the scriptures. You are taught to believe it by tradition.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64400.67
ETH 3506.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53