Resolutions of Jonathan Edwards - Resolved 4 - 8

Jonathan Edwards was one of America's greatest theologians. Over his lifetime he came up with thousands of resolutions that he sought to follow. He later narrowed them down to 70. He purposed to read them over at least once a week and try to live them out practically. They are lofty and eloquent, since they were written in the 1700's the language is a little cumbersome. Nevertheless, they are quite inspirational. Thought I would post a few a day over the next several weeks for my own personal benefit and anyone who wants to chew on them a bit.
010411_resolved.jpg

4. Resolved, never to do any manner of thing, whether in soul or body, less or more, but what tends to the glory of God; nor be, nor suffer it, if I can avoid it.

5. Resolved, never to lose one moment of time; but improve it the most profitable way I possibly can.

6. Resolved, to live with all my might, while I do live.

7. Resolved, never to do anything, which I should be afraid to do, if it were the last hour of my life.

8. Resolved, to act, in all respects, both speaking and doing, as if nobody had been so vile as I, and as if I had committed the same sins, or had the same infirmities or failings as others; and that I will let the knowledge of their failings promote nothing but shame in myself, and prove only an occasion of my confessing my own sins and misery to God.

What are some of your resolutions for the New year?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62153.21
ETH 2411.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64