Resolutions of Jonathan Edwards - Resolved 1 - 3

Jonathan Edwards was one of America's greatest theologians. Over his lifetime he came up with thousands of resolutions that he sought to follow. He later narrowed them down to 70. He purposed to read them over at least once a week and try to live them out practically. They are lofty and eloquent, since they were written in the 1700's the language is a little cumbersome. Nevertheless, they are quite inspirational. Thought I would post a few a day over the next several weeks for my own personal benefit and anyone who wants to chew on them a bit.
010411_resolved.jpg

1. Resolved, that I will do whatsoever I think to be most to God’s glory, and my own good, profit and pleasure, in the whole of my duration, without any consideration of the time, whether now, or never so many myriads of ages hence. Resolved to do whatever I think to be my duty and most for the good and advantage of mankind in general. Resolved to do this, whatever difficulties I meet with, how many soever, and how great soever.

2. Resolved, to be continually endeavoring to find out some new invention and contrivance to promote the aforementioned things.

3. Resolved, if ever I shall fall and grow dull, so as to neglect to keep any part of these Resolutions, to repent of all I can remember, when I come to myself again.

What are some of your resolutions for the New year?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63877.55
ETH 3143.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97