Bible, Alleged Contradictions and The Law of Non-Contradiction

in #christianity7 years ago

Bible is filled with contradictions!

If I had a dollar every time I was told by an unbeliever that the Bible is full of contradictions, I would be a millionaire by now! It never ceases to amaze me how many people still don't fully understand the law of non-contradiction. Two opposite statements can indeed seem contradictory but just because they seem contradictory, it doesn't mean the author or speaker contradicts with himself/herself.

Let me give you guys an example

For example, if I said 1 and 1 equals 2 in one place and in another place said that 1 and 1 equals 1, even though my statements are opposing each other and seem contradictory, but they're not because once I meant 1 plus 1 and the other time I meant 1 time 1. But of course, for someone who only considers my opposing statements without examining the context in which they were made, they can only wonder that I must be a walking contradiction!

What is the law of non-contradiction?

The law of non-contradiction states that two opposing statements cannot be true at the same time and in the same sense. Most people forget the second part and claim to have found a contradiction as soon as they run into two opposing statements. This only shows how weak and horrible their reading skills are, but there's more to it.

What's the catch?

The catch is that there's more to it than simply having weak and horrible reading skills. What is it? It is the very spiritual battle that the Bible talks about. The issue runs deep into the soul and it's not just at the surface. Discerning the truth of the spiritual matters is what divides humanity because it requires a sixth sense which I'd like to refer to as faith. I define this sixth sense or faith as trusting God with all my heart, and mind rather than leaning on my own understanding and believing that God will straighten my path. It is only then that the veils fall off our eyes and we can easily see the truth.

Trust in the LORD with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways submit to him, and he will make your paths straight. (Proverbs 3:5-6)

U5du8MUqdfu4PV7Sn3XCXH5AyDPJwjr_1680x8400.jpg

Sort:  

Good stuff again bro keep it up. I posted here on christians supporting each other here if u haven't seen already: https://steemit.com/christian-trail/@wilx/christians-on-steemit-let-us-follow-and-support-each-other

I'm glad you did! Your visit, read and upvote is much appreciated :)

I deal with this constantly. I make religious videos and some of the comments I get are let's say wow.

COOL! You make religious videos? Where do you upload them?

Youtube, check my steem page. Some are there.

COOL! I threw you a follow. :)

Good work brother following.

One problem is that so many unbelievers quote the bible out of context out of ignorance, and so many believers quote the bible back to them in an attempt to teach them something!

As soon as you start making an argument from a source of authority, you need to stay with it, and your opponent can attack the credibility of that source. Your entire argument can be waylaid by your opponent because he can say something idiotic like, "the Gospels were all written by Constantine 300 years after Christ", and you then have spend all your time telling him how and why he's wrong about that, instead of focusing on your argument.

We are living in a post-Christian world... There ARE other sources of truth than the Bible, and if people really want to evangelize, they need to draw people in using a method that will make sense to their target audience. I prefer to use science and logic and history, because we live in an age when so many people call themselves rational, and believe strongly (almost religiously) in rationalism. They believe in Truth, and you can use this belief to draw them closer to the Source of that truth. But for heaven's sake, quoting the bible is not evangelization.

(That said, I verymuch appreciate any thread with a daily bible verse in it :)

I have a daily giveaway post which looks very secular but ends with a daily Bible verse :)

.. which is how I started following you.

I might make a few adjustments to it later but for now I'm gonna keep them as they are and tonight in about an hour later, I'm gonna go live on YouTube to spin the wheel for the first time. I'll post the YouTube link here just before I go live! :)

please don't interpret my previous comment as a criticism of your posts.... your method is working, and it is appreciated!

I don't mind criticism. If I did, I probably wouldn't be the person I am now!

Or if two of your friends, one a doctor, one an artist, and one an a lawyer described you, they each may describe different attributes of you, based on their training and what they have been taught to observe.
Their descriptions may be different, but they all accurately describe you, just different "parts" of you, that when combined, describe the entire you.
Good article.

Thanks for reading :)

Good explanation and it's a good referrence source, I will keep this in my browser favourites

Glad you liked it :)

Excellent post msg768. A few times, I've come across what seemed like a contradiction, but after continuing, it always becomes clear. I've never heard of the "Law of Contradiction." I agree 100%.

Thank you for reading my article. It's actually the law of NON-contradiction not the law of contradiction, since contradictions aren't allowed in reality! :P

Thank you for that correction. I'm just waking up and I missed the "Non," part. It was a great article to start the day with. :)

No problem! My pleasure and I'm glad you liked it :)

Congratulations @msg768! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of Jun 09. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $29.08 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jun 09 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65133.17
ETH 3480.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52