June 21st, 2017 - Daily Bible Inspiration

in #christianity7 years ago

Hello there!

I hope you are having a good day so far. I will be providing Scripture below on 2 Corinthians 1:3-11, provide a short devotional, and add my own thoughts and health update once again! May you be blessed deeply in God's grace and mercy. 

Scripture Reading: 2 Corinthians 1:3-11

 Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of mercies and God of all comfort, who comforts us in all our affliction, so that we may be able to comfort those who are in any affliction, with the comfort with which we ourselves are comforted by God. For as we share abundantly in Christ's sufferings, so through Christ we share abundantly in comfort too.[a] If we are afflicted, it is for your comfort and salvation; and if we are comforted, it is for your comfort, which you experience when you patiently endure the same sufferings that we suffer. Our hope for you is unshaken, for we know that as you share in our sufferings, you will also share in our comfort.For we do not want you to be unaware, brothers,[b] of the affliction we experienced in Asia. For we were so utterly burdened beyond our strength that we despaired of life itself. Indeed, we felt that we had received the sentence of death. But that was to make us rely not on ourselves but on God who raises the dead. 10 He delivered us from such a deadly peril, and he will deliver us. On him we have set our hope that he will deliver us again. 11 You also must help us by prayer, so that many will give thanks on our behalf for the blessing granted us through the prayers of many. 

Devotional:

A friend mailed me some of her homemade pottery. Upon opening the box, I discovered the precious items had been damaged during their journey. One of the cups had shattered into a few large pieces, a jumble of shards, and clumps of clay dust. After my husband glued the broken mess back together, I displayed the beautifully blemished cup on a shelf.Like that pieced-together pottery, I have scars that prove I can still stand strong after the difficult times God’s brought me through. That cup of comfort reminds me that sharing how the Lord has worked in and through my life can help others during their times of suffering.

The apostle Paul praises God because He is the “Father of compassion and the God of all comfort” (2 Cor. 1:3). The Lord uses our trials and sufferings to make us more like Him. His comfort in our troubles equips us to encourage others as we share what He did for us during our time of need (v. 4).As we reflect on Christ’s suffering, we can be inspired to persevere in the midst of our own pain, trusting that God uses our experiences to strengthen us and others toward patient endurance (v. 5–7). Like Paul, we can be comforted in knowing that the Lord redeems our trials for His glory. We can share His cups of comfort and bring reassuring hope to the hurting.  

Lord, thank You for using us to provide comfort, encouragement, and hope to others who are suffering. We praise You for all You’ve done, are doing, and will continue to do to comfort us through our own afflictions.

God comforts others as we share how He comforted us.

INSIGHT: 

The Greek word for comfort (paraklesis) means “to come alongside and help.” Jesus is called our parakletos (advocate) in 1 John 2:1. The Holy Spirit is another advocate or comforter (John 14:16). Paul asserts that God is “the God of all comfort” (2 Cor. 1:3). The triune Godhead—Father, Son, and Holy Spirit—is there with us in our pain. By saying God is the "Father of our Lord Jesus Christ” (vv. 2–3), Paul thereby reminds us that coming alongside to help each other is a family duty and privilege (v. 4).To whom can you be a parakletos—a comforter—this coming week? 

Yes, indeed, God will use us - and anything - for the glory of His kingdom. In our scars, battle wounds, and experiences, we can be a pillar of hope and encouragement to others as they ride through similar trials. May we help both physically and spiritually in their needs, praying for others and asking for God's mercy to come down and touch their lives. Physically, we can also shed light by just being present and asking them if you can be of need in any way. Willingness can certainly go a long way. 

I have been greatly encouraged and touched by @coolbowser for being such a great encouragement and database of knowledge to help me get through this cold/fever this week. I would say right now as we speak, I am probably 85-90% healed, by the grace of God! I am continuously eating my Vitamin's, drinking plenty of fluids, and letting out any of the bad stuff (phlegm) from my body frequently. I feel that by God's grace, I will be fully be healed by this week for sure. Praise God! Please continue to pray for me. Likewise, if you have any burdens or prayers that you want me to specifically pray for, please do not hesitate to contact me. I am more than willing to pray for you!

Don't forget to upvote and comment below, telling me what you think! I love hearing from you guys; it truly means so, so much. God bless you! :)

Sort:  

I appreciate the time and energy you put into your devotionals, even though you aren't feeling well. I hope you will feel better soon!

Thanks @hereishome. I appreciate such warm words of encouragement like what you said. Soli Deo Gloria :) God bless! You have a new follower by the way :D

Amen! His will be done, and we can trust He understands though we don't, and all things work togther for good of them who love Him and are the called according to His purpose (Romans 8:28). Upvoted and resteemed. God bless!

Yes, 100% agreed! I love that passage. May we continue to abide in the relationship made in our Lord Jesus Christ, as we continue to be sanctified in His name. Thank you for your kind gesture @doule. God bless you too!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66086.05
ETH 3299.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70