You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What Is A Modern Day Pharisee?

in #christianity7 years ago

Amen to your post! After growing up in Worldwide Church of God (Armstrongism) and not being able to celebrate Christmas, Easter, Birthdays, and then being compelled to follow the Old Testament Jewish laws, I can tell you...

Christ was diminished and law keeping was magnified.

We left that church eventually, and I was glad to be free from the religiosity. I ended up getting into some trouble as a teenager, and compounded my sins.

It wasn't until I was set free by reading John 17, and the simple truth "Father I want those you have given Me to be with Me where I am, that they might see My glory..." that everything changed.

I realized I was going to heaven not based on my works or merit, but COMPLETELY on that of Jesus Christ. Amazingly, sinful habits began to fall off like broken chains, empowered by grace.

I still struggle with seeing God for who He is--loving (though certainly a righteous judge) but am continually encouraged by a plethora of promises by both the new and the old testament. Be blessed, Snowpea and have a wonderful 2018!

Sort:  

ohmygoodness....you basically wrote my story. i was wwcog-armstrong. ping ponged and have settled in the love that comes from the law...not the law exclusively. Praise YHWH and be blessed brother.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 60868.40
ETH 2377.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64