You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Light Shines in the Darkness: the North American Solar Eclipse of 2017

in #christianity7 years ago

I thought for sure you guys were really close to the total eclipse. You must have been too far south, just as we were too far north. In Eau Claire, WI it was about 85%. I knew it wouldn't get dark, but I was also hoping for twilight or something like that. It did get noticeably dimmer though--we were at the park with the kids, and as I watched them play, the sunlight on the ground looked to the naked eye like I was looking at it through a tinted car windshield--that only lasted for a minute or two.

Leah caught this photo of the eclipse at its apex, using the glasses as a filter in front of her iphone camera.

IMG_9390a.jpg

We had the sunglasses and that was cool to see it actually take place. The coolest thing was that it was forecast to be cloudy and rainy all day. So I just stayed inside and worked. Then at about 11:30 the skies got perfectly clear. I said, let's head over to the park! It stayed clear during the entire eclipse. Then at around 2, after it was over, it got cloudy again. Almost like a little miracle just for us (and whoever else got to watch!)

I love your conclusions about darkness being overpowered by the light. It doesn't take much light to do that. We are lights in the world, following after the Light of the World, Jesus Christ! To Him be the glory.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 63277.21
ETH 2487.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71