Nebuchadnezzar’s Sanity is Restored

in #christianity6 years ago

At the end of that time, I, Nebuchadnezzar, raised my eyes toward heaven, and my sanity was restored. Then I praised the Most High; I honored and glorified him who lives forever.

His dominion is an eternal dominion; his kingdom endures from generation to generation.

All the peoples of the earth are regarded as nothing. He does as he pleases with the powers of heaven and the peoples of the earth. No one can hold back his hand or say to him: “What have you done?” Daniel 4:34-35

During the duration of the decree, Nebuchadnezzar ate grass like an ox. As he crawled on all four, as the beasts do, his eyes were fixed upon the earth looking out for his food. But at the end of that time, he looked up to heaven and his sanity was restored.

“God resists the proud, but gives grace to the humble.” James 4:6b

After his very humbling experience, the king praises and gives glory to the Most High who is sovereign over the affairs of men and of angels.

NEBUCHADNEZZAR GLORIFIES THE KING OF HEAVEN

At the same time that my sanity was restored, my honor and splendor were returned to me for the glory of my kingdom. My advisers and nobles sought me out, and I was restored to my throne and became even greater than before. Now I, Nebuchadnezzar, praise and exalt and glorify the King of heaven, because everything he does is right and all his ways are just. And those who walk in pride he is able to humble. Daniel 4:36-37

The king acknowledged that God did not deal unjustly or too severely with him. God does what is right and His ways are just. Not only was God just, but gracious towards the king by restoring him to his throne and making him even greater than he was before.

REPENT TO RECEIVE FORGIVENESS

Nebuchadnezzar’s confession echoes what the great psalmist and former king of Israel penned when the prophet Nathan came to him after David had committed adultery with Bathsheba.

Against you, you only, have I sinned and done what is evil in your sight; so you are right in your verdict and justified when you judge. Psalm 51:4

As King David, being convinced of his sin poured out his soul to God in prayer for mercy and grace; so can anyone who turns to God in repentance receive forgiveness. Our Creator and Redeemer is not only righteous and just, but gracious and merciful, slow to anger and abounding in love.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60725.43
ETH 2900.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59