Joy

in #christianity6 years ago

It is no surprise to most of us that medical science is in full agreement with the biblical mandate that a "merry heart" is good medicine. Research of endorphins, nature's natural pain killers, reveals to us believers how creative God was when he placed endorphins in the brain which are released when we laugh.

We know now that laughter relaxes the skeletal frame, lowers blood pressure, and helps regulate the heart rate.

smile-2928326__480.jpg

Recently a little friend of mine called Jude told me he thought he'd get in a "whole lot less trouble" if he didn't laugh so much. I was concerned about his comment. I think I feared the family customs might be in jeopardy.
Apparently what sets Jude off in the classroom and gets him into trouble with his teacher are the antics of a boy called "Turtlehead." He keeps his head tucked below the collar line unless he gets excited about something or knows the answer to a question. When that happens his head suddenly pops out of his shirt collar, revealing a long, scrawny neck which gyrate wildly forward and back until the teacher calls on him. As soon as the question is answered, the neck sizes down and disappears again into the collar.
schoolboy-2340801__480.jpg

When I suggested "Turtlehead's" feelings might be with that nickname, Jude shot back with, "He's the most popular kid in class. Everyone tries to tuck his head into his shirt. I don't think I'll ever be able to, though. Everyone calls me 'Potatohead,' I think that's why my head won't tuck."
I made no effort, to contain myself as I envisioned "Turtlehead" and "Potatoehead" trying valiantly to get through reading group without disruption.
When I confessed that I had been called "String Bean" in grade school, Jude triumphantly stated, "At least we're in the same group.... We're both vegetables!" That comment produced a fresh rush of endorphins. I guess the family customs are not in jeopardy.
children-1879906__480.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67677.71
ETH 3825.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65