Never Alone - Daily Encouragement

in #christianity7 years ago (edited)

Today for my daily encouragement I decided to try something a little bit different. I haven't written poetry in a very long time but I have been thinking about doing this since I started this blog. I hope you enjoy.

You were there at my first breath
You will be there at my last
I see you in every step I take
Even in those from my past

I was young when I first felt your presence
I remember the moment as if it were new
I knew something was missing
But what was I to do?

I had heard the pastor talk about Jesus
How he died to make me clean
I knew that I needed Him
For He said "You must be born again"

There as just a young boy
I asked you into my heart to stay
My mother kneeled down to pray with me
I would never forget that day.

I listened to many sermons
I went to so many Sunday schools
I heard what my teachers were saying
I played by all the rules

As I grew into a teenager
My heart began to grow cold
Going to church became a burden
I no longer listened to what I was told

I tried to run from your presence
Your teachings I did not heed
I wanted to be like the world
The flesh I wanted to feed

For many years I would waiver
With the devil I would dance
It was fun for a little while
But only for a short allowance

Quickly I saw how it worked
How fast people wanted to use
The life I was living was in vain
There was no love, only abuse

The darkness crept into me
I felt fear like never before
These things I that I had left you for
Had me crying on the floor

It was then at my weakest
I heard that still small voice say
You had to be broken
In order for for my will to purvey

I knew what needed to be done
My life to rededicate
I came back to where it all began
Where your words first did resonate

It has been a few years now
My life you have truly blessed
I still have much more to learn
But to your love and mercy, I do attest

I know there will be more trials ahead
Certainly more things to cause a groan
But for this I know for certain
You will never leave me alone

Press on my brothers and sisters

-Jonathan

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67698.91
ETH 3266.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64