Question for steemit's Christian CommunitysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #christianity7 years ago

Having been on steemit about a month, I am still learning quite a bit.

image

However, one thing I noticed is the seemingly uselessness of the Christianity section. I am a Christian who has been a missionary, preached, and also started schools. Faith is something that has hands and feet. Faith works hard, sweats, gets dirty, and the result grows fruit for God's Kingdom.

This seems to be missing in the Christianity section. Posts with pictures of flowers, cute little animals, and then a quoted verse that seems "nice." This nice verse has no context, which results in no application, making God's Word void. Essentially, most of these steemit posts relegate the Bible to emotional platitudes with no authority to shape our daily lives.

Here is my question: Does Christianity affect all areas of our lives?

Posted with esteem app

Sort:  

Hello : ) I've been on here for a couple of weeks and am also a Christian. I've taken the approach of simply starting to be a voice of hope and encouragement on the platform to begin to build relationships. It's such a wide range of people on here from so many different backgrounds. I think it's hard to truly share the depth of who Christ really is with people before there has been a bit of trust built. I would encourage you to write the posts you are hoping to see more of and set an example. You might inspire courage and ideas in others who are still finding their style and voice. : )

That was one reason for this post, is to figure out where people stand in general. Even outside of steemit, a good chunk of Christian believe faith is not practical.

I have been writing on christian perspectives when it comes to economics recently, and hoping to do more. Thanks for the encouragement to keep writing @lead.well! Through God's grace, hopefully steemit's christian community can put some meet on dem' bones :)

I think the problem is that the Christians on here don't have a leading voice. I myself don't identify with any one religion but I have lots of respect for the Christian community.

@wix, do you think that if people start trying to apply theology, that the community will gain some leading voices and increase the value of the Christian section?

Yeah, the more people that are using the Christian tag, the more value the Christian section has. It will take a few months for your to really gain traction on here because of the mass influx of new users joining steemit. Right now there are more people joining steemit per day then entire months of last years. I would say just keep doing what your doing and spreading the word and I know a whole lot more people will join in. Once people see people like you talking about this, I think they will be more open and comfortable talking about their beliefs.

I agree. I came on here to create dialog and help Christians grow. I want to shine a light in the darkness of what I consider to be the false Christian Church.

However, much of what I find here is just as you describe. It seems they want to make easy money by quoting the Bible. There's little to no depth in most of the content being posted and that to me is frustrating. I have been taking a break to refocus my energy where it matters while I decide whether to continue here.

You probably don't agree with my views either but regardless, we agree that the Christian community here is lacking.

I am growing and seeking to do more but as a part of the suppressed Church, it is hard to get a word in.

Congratulations @ironmanmatt! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67551.75
ETH 3252.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65