Movie Review - The Shack 2017 ( Possible slight spoilers )

in #christianity7 years ago


Image Source

This is my first movie review I'm writing so excuse the lack of professionalism if any comes up.

My sister has told me many times about this book & the movie, but I never got around to watch it or read it, until last week when I got my hands on a copy of the movie.

The movie is about Mack Phillips who suffers a family tragedy when his little girl is kidnapped and murdered on a family camping trip. Spiraling into a deep depression he receives a letter from Papa ( His wife calls God that ) inviting him to an abandoned shack in the wilderness.

Despite his doubts Mack travels to the shack where he encounters The Trinity. God, Jesus & The Holy Spirit. The weekend he spends with them he learns about God's character, gets his questions answered and gets his life transformed.

Being a Christian myself this movie has answered an extremely important question for me which I wanted answered for so many years, "Why does God allow certain things to happen when He has the power to stop it?"

The characters that portrayed The Trinity really had an effect on me. God being the soft hearted person He is, Jesus the joyful one & The Holy Spirit the calming peaceful voice.

I know many people might not agree with the actors that were chosen, but for me they hit the nail right on the head personality wise.


Image Source

The movie shows how from extreme anger that Mack has built up towards God he is shown the truth in a way that neither pressures him nor forces him to accept.

There is a part in the movie where Mack speaks to God's Wisdom, portrayed in human form, and this is where he asks the direct questions that really hit home with me.

Wisdom explains to him why God allows things in this life and the quote that really hit me was, "You want the promise of a pain free life".... "There isn't one"

The following line spoken gives comfort to that hard truth which I won't reveal. It's for you to watch.

I was so touched by this movie that I literally couldn't stop crying as so much was revealed to me regarding life and how God works. The only thing is that they don't use scripture to backup the statements, but the movie is made in such a way & the actors portray the truth in such a way that you don't need scripture, if I may put it that way.

Needless to say this is a must watch for anyone wanting to see a side of God they might not understand. Many people may criticize the movie, but for me, I was touched. It was as if God was speaking to me, hence the tears I had.

If you ever come across this movie, do yourself a favor and watch it. For me it has made me see God in a completely different way. As opposed to certain times when I blamed God for things that weren't even His fault.

I hope this movie review was acceptable at best for you. I might do more and improve with each one.

Click here to get awesome Steemit products!

Sort:  

This post has received a 0.66 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @iamnotageek.

You know, there could be another reason one would be conflicted by the paradoxes and hypocrisy of Christianity...

22222.JPG

I'm just fuckin with you dude

Lol I know. You are a character to say the least. Such a well rounded gentleman.

No I'm not calling you fat LOL

he has a big belly lol

Always good to listen to your sister from time to time lol.

The whole of ancient astrology owed its origin to conversation with the cosmic intelligences. But by the time of the first centuries after the rise of Christianity, ancient astrology - that is to say, conversation with cosmic intelligences - was a thing of the past.

Twice and thrice over, as they say, good is it to repeat and review what is good.

Writing, of course, is writing, acting comes from the theater, and cinematography comes from photography. Editing is unique to film. You can see something from different points of view almost simultaneously, and it creates a new experience.

Being no bigot myself to any mode of worship, I am disposed to endulge the professors of Christianity in the church, that road to heaven which to them shall seem the most direct plainest easiest and least liable to exception.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64036.76
ETH 2647.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78