‭‭Malachi‬ ‭3:1‬‬ - Behold, I am going to send My messenger

in #christianity7 years ago (edited)

Skærmbillede 2018-01-26 kl. 22.52.49.png


‭‭Malachi‬ ‭3:1‬‬

""Behold, I am going to send My messenger, and he will clear the way before Me.

And the Lord, whom you seek, will suddenly come to His temple;

and the messenger of the covenant, in whom you delight, behold, He is coming,"

says the LORD of hosts."

Sort:  

You are correct in asserting that this is speaking of John the Baptist. The Gospel of Mark (1:2) points to Isaiah 40:3 as well 'The voice of him that crieth in the wilderness, Prepare ye the way of the LORD, make straight in the desert a highway for our God'.

That messenger that God promised to send latter proved to be John the Baptist, he actually prepared the way for the emergence of Jesus Christ. Thanks for sharing, @goodreads

He is coming! :)
This is the first coming of Christ. I believe the 2nd coming is what we all must be prepared.
Thank you very much @goodreads. You are a blessing to many! :)

Definitely! Thank you!

You're most welcome @goodreads! 😊

In malachi he might be talking about john the Baptist buh similar statement was repeated in the new testament in
John :14 vs 26 where he" i said he will send you the holy spirit who will make you understand and remember every thing"
I believe that messenger to be the Holy Spirit
Thanks @goodreads thats a nice chapter to meditate on.

It's my understanding that "My messenger" refers to John the Baptist, and the "Me" refers to Jesus, the Messiah, the messenger of the covenant. My notes have a cross-reference to Psalm 85:8,

"I will hear what God the Lord will speak, for He will speak peace to His people and to His saints . . ."

I can tell the latter part of this verse is covenant language. Can anyone tell more about this?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63191.06
ETH 2551.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65