Heaven's Garden

I came across this beautiful posy of daisies, mums and baby's breath and it reminded me of this quote from St. Therese of Lisieux:

"If every flower wanted to be a rose, nature would lose her springtime beauty."

32466309_10156133600256206_2417600871459192832_n.jpg
Image Source

And I find this to be so true. Sometimes we want to be like someone else, thinking if only I was taller, thinner, talented, richer, famous and whatever else. It is a fact I guess that most of the time we are never content with who we are and what we have for that matter. There is always something missing in our lives.

I guess part of the problem is the media which is always doing its best to convince us we have to reach for more, comparing our lives with others, telling us what's beautiful and acceptable. Sparking an avid desire to keep up with Joneses and enviously thinking the grass is always greener on the other side. I can't imagine a more stressful , worrying and sadder attitude.

There's more to life than killing yourself with vain pursuits and ending up a sorry messed up wannabe. Trying to be something we're not is not only unhealthy for relationships but can produce some other negative issues perhaps even a total disenchantment with life. All I can think of now is that I am grateful that I don't hanker anymore for what I can't have, I don't wish to be like someone else or possessing things that don't really matter.
I believe God has made me who I am and that I am fearfully and wonderfully made (Psalm 139:14). To change myself is like telling God he made a mistake and that not all He made is good. I am who I am and God loves me just the way I am. I am not perfect far from it but I have accepted who I am with all my imperfections. I must admit there's a lot of these but I know I can change because with God nothing is impossible. The rose is considered the most beautiful of flowers but if heaven's garden were just full of roses it would be kind of dull. So there are daisies, violets, lilies, mums and other small and spectacular blooms to please the eye. Just like the human race each of us is unique, irreplaceable, wanted and loved no matter what we look like. The world is a better place because of you.

Sort:  

Human as we are, being contented is far from reality. Although for me there are two important things that we should consider here, I mean it's not always negative, for when we aren't contented with something we tend to do the best we could to be able to achieve what we want and that is something good.

On the other hand comparing ourselves to others who for me will always be better than us (because normally we don't compare ourselves to those who are less fortunate) so it will lead to discouragement or sadness that would take our drive to strive more to become a better person. that is why I strongly agree with these lines, "the best person to compare with is ourselves"

Yes some things aren't always negative as it seems. What I am referring to are the people who tend to view things this way They always want to be above everyone else because of pride. Those who compare themselves to others also fall in this category. I would like to think that if we are to do any comparing it should be according to the lives of saints. Someday we shall join them in paradise because no one can enter the kingdom of God with our imperfections. Thank you for your comment appreciate it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62952.44
ETH 2542.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65