Sort:  

A tithe is a voluntary payment to a religious establishment, not a tax. But Jesus also wasn't always on board with Old Testament laws anyway.

I understand that religion and government were mixed in ancient Israel at times, so the line between them got blurred at times.... but that doesn't concern me much. I'm an atheist. I'm just revisiting Christian anarchism as a "reality tunnel" in order to give people an alternative way of interpreting the gospel. In reality, there's a million contradictions in the Bible, so no Christian worldview can actually be consistent without rejecting a lot of the Bible.

I believe in a creating force, I don't believe in religion, but religions do use the Bible to get their tithe, I just looked up, and one I found says the following:
"If we understand that grace always exceeds the law, and that the New Testament believers gave far above 10% of their own volition, we can begin to get an accurate perspective of New Testament tithing. Tithing is intended to train people to trust God, to break greed and selfishness off our lives, and build healthy spiritual habits that will release God’s blessing over our lives." Personally I think that's a great way of getting money.

Most Christian anarchists are against establishment type churches...they tend towards Quaker-style house churches, with just a few people getting together to worship.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57531.86
ETH 3051.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29