How to rejoice in trials!

in #christianity6 years ago (edited)

James 1 :2
Consider it pure joy, my brothers and sisters, whenever you face trials of many kinds,

How does this scripture work how can someone find a bad thing in life pure joy? It seems impossible to be joyful when some one gets the news that they have cancer or that they got fired or that they just lost a loved one !
How in the world can we find something like that pure joy??

To find the answer let's study one of my favorite persons in the bible David.

I called to the Lord , who is worthy of praise, and I have been saved from my enemies. The cords of death entangled me; the torrents of destruction overwhelmed me. The cords of the grave coiled around me; the snares of death confronted me.
Psalm 18:3‭-‬5

We see right here that David was going through a very hard time. He said he felt entangled by death and destruction!

The next verse shows why we need to find trials as pure joy !

In my distress I called to the Lord ; I cried to my God for help. From his temple he heard my voice; my cry came before him, into his ears.
Psalm 18:6 NIV

All those things caused David to feel distressed and that's when he was able to really move God by his prayer.

How's your prayer life do you call to God out of distress or out of duty?

Like a loving parent God quickly moves to rescue him after that prayer!

The earth trembled and quaked, and the foundations of the mountains shook; they trembled because he was angry. Smoke rose from his nostrils; consuming fire came from his mouth, burning coals blazed out of it. He parted the heavens and came down; dark clouds were under his feet. The Lord thundered from heaven; the voice of the Most High resounded.
Psalm 18:7‭-‬9‭, ‬13 NIV

When God hears a genuine prayer he moves heaven, sky ,earth and sea to rescue his people !

Next time you go through something hard in life know that God wants you to call on him with a genuine heart so that you both can go through it together !

Sort:  

Well said my friend. We need to remember this lesson because we will be repeating it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62974.52
ETH 2679.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55