You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What Is A Modern Day Pharisee?

in #christianity7 years ago

@snowpea I grew up in the church like you, though not nearly as strict I don't think. I grew up in the Assemblies of God and later went to non-denominational charismatic churches, holy rollers and speaking in tongues and all that. I am now in my mid 30's and have not been to a church or identified as a Christian for almost 3 years. May I ask you a few questions about your current beliefs and what the Bible says?

For the record I still whole-heartedly trust the whole Bible, (and some biblically endorsed extra-biblical texts too, like the book of Jasher) I do not necessarily trust most of the modern interpretations of the Bible, especially concerning what Paul said. I love Paul, i don't love what some think he says or how they elevate his words above the Messiah's.

Sort:  

Thank you for your comment! When you say you don't identify as a Christian but believe the Bible, what do you mean? Sure you can absolutely ask me some questions. :)

I mean the term Christian and all that is implied with it does not properly define and portray who I am as a child of God.

So before I get in to the meat of what I want to discuss with I would like to establish a foundation to make sure we both are on the same page. Do you believe as I do that

  1. The only way to salvation is thru the blood of the Messiah.
  2. He the Messiah lived a life without sin and died as a sacrifice for the sins of all mankind from Adam all the way to the end of this earth.
  3. The Messiah and God are one as stated here. I and My Father are one.”
    John 10:30 NKJV
  4. God does not change as stated here “For I am the Lord , I do not change; Therefore you are not consumed, O sons of Jacob.
    Malachi 3:6 NKJV and here Every good gift and every perfect gift is from above, and cometh down from the Father of lights, with whom is no variableness, neither shadow of turning.
    James 1:17 KJV
  5. No man has the authority to change that which God has established.

Do you agree with those 5 statements @snowpea?

I do!

Ok. My first question, what is sin? How does the Bible define sin?

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 60480.09
ETH 2363.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65