Daily Psalms and Proverbs - Fri. 6/23/17

in #christianity7 years ago

A good day to all reading this! Today's reading is Psalm 4:8 and Proverbs 3:1-2:

Psalm 4:8

I will both lay me down in peace, and sleep: for thou, LORD, only makest me dwell in safety.

In this verse, David writes that he can leave behind the cares of this world to sleep in peace because he knows that his whole life is in the Lord's hands and he's under His protection.


Proverbs 3:1-2

My son, forget not my law; but let thine heart keep my commandments:
For length of days, and long life, and peace, shall they add to thee.

Here Solomon tells his son not to forget what he's commanded him to do and not do. The truth in this law is ultimately God's, but Solomon calls it his law because of the authority he has over son as his parent to either allow or forbid his son to do things.

In this verse, too, Solomon makes clear that true obedience comes from the heart. If one only outwardly obeys, and rebellion against God's ways is still in his heart, he will eventually go astray.

Solomon counsels his son that doing what's good brings life and peace.


Thank you for reading this and God bless!

Please upvote and resteem, and you can follow me at @doule.

Also:

Sort:  

It's the inner peace of our salvation and the Holy Ghost that takes away the sting of death and allows us to radiate the fruits of the spirit. Thank GOD for metanoia (not me, the definition of the word, lol)!

Yes indeed. Our peace comes from our salvation. We know the Lord and are known by Him. I had to look up metanoia again from your post on it because I forgot what it meant, but now I've got it :) And I know I've experienced it too. Yes, thank God for it!

Psalm 4:8
I will both lay me down in peace, and sleep: for thou, LORD, only makest me dwell in safety.

what I like about the psalms is that they express feelings and attitudes of worship toward God; these early songwriters were not afraid to say exactly how they were feeling at the time. I sing psalms everyday to the Lord, because it makes the words come alive to me, and I have found that singing the words activate something in the atmosphere, especially if you make these songs apart of your everyday worship time with Him.

Also, something that I have learned by studying the word and listening to christian radio and tv shows, I have learned to greet Him in the morning with worship and praise, and also to praise Him and utter a prayer at night asking the Lord to protect me and to guide my dreams, asking for sweet dreams of revelation about His will for my life and about Him, and it has helped me a lot.

when you do the work of the Lord, satan, the enemy tries to attack you in your most vulnerable places, such as when you sleep at night, so I recommend that everyone ask the Lord for his protection when you sleep; it gives peaceful rest!

Thank you for your thoughts! I love that about the psalms too, how expressive they are, showing us what a personal relationship with God really is. God bless!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57344.91
ETH 3100.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42