You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Copyright Violation - Why it is morally wrong

in #christianity7 years ago

Opinions are always welcome if presented in a fair and non-argumentative manner. :-)
Here is my response to your well organized answer:

  1. I know all about supply and demand. I have had my own business for 23 years now, and have taken many business courses during that time. I understand that Stock Photography as I once knew it has gone the way of the typewriter. (I thank you for reading my #introduceyourself post to find out more about how I have been adapting to changes!) I am not doing “Business as Usual” like some of my peers. I have even joined the iPhoneography crowd and am licensing mobile phone images! I forgot to mention that in my intro However, I will point out that although typewriters are obsolete, you still have to pay if you want one – maybe big bucks because they are antiques. LOL!

  2. I appreciate that. But copyright is also there to protect the small content provider like myself. I have been successful a few times in pursuing payment and issuing DMCA notices against websites that are hosting my stolen work. People blatantly copy my images and sell them as their own, with everyone raving about the beautiful pics!

Images of pets are particularly vulnerable to theft! In the past, a right clicked image would not be worth selling because it's use was too limited. Today that use is popular because most content is used on the web anyway. My very first copyright violation collection was for a picture of a horse that someone was using to make prints and sell on Ebay! How the heck did she manage that? Well, she was selling miniature prints for dollhouses! Getty's lawyers went after her and shut down her business, as all she was doing was selling prints of images from Getty! It does not matter even if she paid for a license. No one buys the copyright (unless in a buyout which is another story.) The license fee is for using the image and does not allow representing the image as your own and reselling it! Only I as the artist have the right to print and sell my images.

The saddest collection I made was from a Christian publishing company which paid a fee to use my image only on the book cover. However, some graphics designer decided to use the image all throughout the book and also on the back cover. I was happy they liked my image, but they did not pay the appropriate licensing fee. That was an easy one, because the company was a good client of Getty's and perhaps would not have knowingly avoided paying the correct fee in my opinion!

The most ironic one was from a bank which was using my image to promote accumulating wealth. Until I collected from them, I was not accumulating wealth. Hehe! They claimed that a newbie graphics designer was to blame for the mistake.

The poor graphics designer always gets the blame! It's up to companies to make sure their designers know how and if they can use images.

Still think I do not have the right to copyright protection?

  1. I can assure you that I am not hiding behind laws and the Bible! If that is the case, then shopkeepers who go after thieves are also hiding behind laws and the Bible. In any case, I don't hide behind the Bible. I read it and try to apply the commonsense rules of honor and decency. All western civilization was founded on biblical principles. You can agree or disagree about whether that should or should not be, but it is a fact of history that cannot be changed. The 10 Commandments have been used as a moral guide in all western civilization. The fact that that is now breaking down, does not change history!

And lastly, I'm not sure I totally understand why you quoted Proverbs 21:5.

Here is the NLT version : Proverbs 21:5 Good planning and hard work lead to prosperity, but hasty shortcuts lead to poverty.

It is saying that hard work pays off and that taking shortcuts does not. I agree wholeheartedly. That's why I'm against someone TAKING my work to use. That's a shortcut that SHOULD end in poverty. Of course, the Proverbs are guidelines and they are not telling us what actually happens. The age old question is always, “Why do the evil prosper?” And that I'm afraid, is a question I have no answer for!

Sort: