Netflix - Martin Luther:The Idea that Changed the World

in #christianity7 years ago

I watched this documentary/movie on Netflix last night and thought it was very good. It was a documentary but it was mixed with actors that acted out the events from the documentary so it wasn't just people talking through the whole thing. I learned some new things about Martin Luther and it was very good. Thank God for the work He did through Martin Luther!

I love the way the documentary showed the human side of Martin Luther and didn't portray him as perfect. I think that's exactly how Martin Luther would have wanted it as one of his core beliefs was the 'depravity of man'. I don't want to put any spoilers in here so I'll just say that one of the parts of this move that is still working on me today is when they explained Martin Luther's views on 'Incurvatus in se', which means that man's heart is "turned into itself". I looked this up a little more after the movie and it was Luther's belief that mans every action is for his own benefit, even his actions in seeking God are to benefit himself and that this behavior continues even after salvation. In being truthful about who I am as a person I believe this is true. I'm not sure if it was CS Lewis that said, "I don't know what an evil man's heart looks like, but I know what mine looks like and it's terrible." Luther believed that it was only when you realize you're hopeless standing before God that salvation begins. Like the Bible says, "If we say we have no sin we deceive ourselves and the truth is not in us, but if we confess our sins God who is faithful and just will forgive our sins and cleanse us from all unrighteousness."

The movie also did a good job of showing how Martin Luther influenced people and events for years to come and gave specific examples. Very inspiring move for me. Watch it for yourself and let me know what you think.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59876.72
ETH 3191.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43