A Glimpse Of Heaven

in #christianity6 years ago

It was the year 2012, during the New Year's celebration, that I decided it was about time I took God seriously. I mean, life was quite tiring and the future, hazy. If you know me, you'd know I hate uncertainties. So, imagine how I felt.

I was getting into my final year in school, there were talks of an impending strike, I knew my CGPA was nothing to write home about, I was worried about trying to get the next school fees, and I knew I didn't have a place to stay for the next academic year.

Yep, I was a basket case of uncertainties.

So, while we were praying in church, on that first day of 2012, I simply asked myself what I had to lose. My life was a miry clay and the Bible said He took someone out of miry clay, setting their feet upon a rock. I needed such assurance of stability in my life. I needed to know that someone's got me. I needed an anchor.

I said, "Okay, God, let's do this."

image.png

Pixabay


I can't say the number of times I have fallen since then. I can't say the number of times I have argued with Him since then and I can't say the number of times I have ignored Him since then, but in all these, not once have I thrown in the towel.

Not once.

In those times when my sins are crying out against me, and the guilt reminds me how worthless I am, but for the blood shed for me, I crawl back to the Father and ask for forgiveness. I ask that He forgive me because His son died for me.

In times when I don't understand His silence, sometimes I scream at Him, sometimes I weep in my confusion, and sometimes I remain still and quiet, but in all, I am with Him.

In times when the wind has blown everything I hold dear, and takes away all the things I would have held onto to steady myself, I shut my eyes against the blinding sand and reach out for the One who says He is always there.

In all these experiences, I learn to lean. I learn to trust.


Why I remain?

There is simply nowhere else to go!
Also, when I am frustrated with happenings around, to the point of indescribable weakness, I get a miracle.

Sometimes, though, I don't get to that point before the miracle comes, and I remember that He said that before I call he would answer.

Some weeks ago, I got one miracle before it was needed, and I understood what the songwriter meant when he or she said, "I stand in awe of You, Holy God to whom all praise is due."

Today, I got a miracle just when I needed it, and I understand what the songwriter means when he or she said, "Just about the time I just can't take it anymore, I get a little glimpse of heaven, just in time."

Finally, I have nowhere else to go.

Though He slays me, yet will I trust Him. I pray He keeps me near the cross.

I'm just testifying. If you need the full testimony, ask.

Thanks for reading.

Sort:  

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! We encourage and support quality contents and projects from the West African region.
Do you have a suggestion, concern or want to appear as a guest author on WAfrica, join our discord server and discuss with a member of our curation team.
Don't forget to join us every Sunday by 20:30GMT for our Sunday WAFRO party on our discord channel. Thank you.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Djoi from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63188.04
ETH 2570.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79