Daily Devotion - Our Holy Purpose

in #christianity6 years ago

holy-purpose.png

So, whether you eat or drink, or whatever you do, do all to the glory of God. — 1 Corinthians 10:31 ESV

WHAT IS OUR HOLY PURPOSE?

Obedience? An active faith? Spreading the Gospel?

Those are a few of God’s commands and essential to our Christian existence. Without them, we stop growing in Christ’s image. They are byproducts of God’s divine plan.

But the Lord’s most precious want is receiving glory.

In fact, scripture teaches us this:

So, whether you eat or drink, or whatever you do, do all to the glory of God. 1 Corinthians 10:31 ESV

As shown above, Apostle Paul reminds us to glorify God with our minds, bodies, and spirit. He gives a blueprint with details of how to praise our Father.

What does that mean?

The first thing to remember is God made Christ our top priority (John 14:6). Nothing glorifies the Lord more than to place Christ above everything.

This goes beyond simple recognition of Jesus. Here God’s asks us to devote ourselves to His Son, and by doing so, He secures our place in heaven (1 Peter 1:3-12).

Let me walk you through the way it works in my life.

Before God saved me, alcoholism ruled my life. I became a drunkard and spent most of my time abusing alcohol. Everything in my life centered around liquor.

Sometimes I held back rent or didn’t pay the electric bill. I exerted mental and physical effort to make sure I had enough alcohol to get drunk. Often, I took my first drink upon waking.

I placed alcohol first and devoted myself to it.

I’m pleased to share with you I no longer live to drink.

Why is that?

God rescued me and placed me in Christ’s care.

Today instead of having a drink in hand, I embrace Jesus through prayer and meditation. My life is now transformed from one anchored in self-destruction to one glorifying God in Christ.

It’s in my daily surrender to Jesus that I’m able to praise God. And in return, the Holy Spirit reigns through my inner-being. This extraordinary connectedness with Him makes me eager to serve His purpose.

And the best part is once you live in Christ, God promises this:

“If you abide in me, and my words abide in you, ask whatever you wish, and it will be done for you. By this my Father is glorified, that you bear much fruit and so prove to be my disciples.” John 15:7-8 ESV

Here John shows us God’s powerful command to let Christ take control. And when we walk in Jesus footsteps, then we discover His faithfulness to give us our wishes. Amazing isn’t it?

Given these points, our holy purpose is to abandon ourselves to Christ. Remember worshiping God always starts with Christ!


Devotable is a brand seeking to spread the word of God to everyone around the world.

If you like what we're doing, please connect with us. Resteem, upvote, follow and comment. We love to hear feedback.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60701.27
ETH 2912.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40