Den of Truth - The higher you climb, there's always another line of mountaintops.

in #christianity7 years ago

Screen Shot 2017-06-16 at 9.29.00 AM.png

It’s funny how you think as a kid that you’ll be happy once you reach that next level of success or popularity. You work so hard toward it because you think it will finally be the one thing that makes all of your pain and stress go away.

But then you reach it and nothing changes.

So you buckle down and tell yourself “Okay, this didn’t do it for me, so apparently I need to work harder and get even one step further.”

But then you reach it again and the same thing happens. You’re still unhappy. You’re still stressed. What you thought would bring relief only let you down yet again.

I know you can relate. I sure can. You know, the sad thing is, there are people who get to the end of their lives who are always one step away from happiness and joy. They never quite understand the point I’m about to make:

The higher you climb, there’s always going to be another line of mountain tops to conquer. If you only find joy in how high you go, you’ll never actually be happy. Joy only comes from within. In fact, it can only come when peace sets in as a byproduct of relationship with God.

In my own life, I remember thinking 3-4 years ago how when I reached the level of business success I am currently sitting at, I will have finally “arrived.” That the stresses of running my business would magically subside and I’d be able to sit back and relax.

Yeah, that didn’t happen.

What I know is this. There is really only one thing in this life that will ever bring joy - a strong and blossoming relationship with the Lord, where you pursue Him with zeal, giving your heart to Him each and every day.

Joy is one of the fruits of the spirit, which you only get to tap into if you’ve given up the flesh and are living in the spirit.

Don't lose sight of what's important. Focus on Jesus first, and the rest will follow.

You'll find joy even if you find yourself back at the bottom of the mountain.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59171.53
ETH 2580.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47