TEMPLE THOUGHTS Users And Takers

in #christianity6 years ago

“As the deer pants for the water brooks, So pants my soul for You, O God.” Psalms‬ ‭42:1‬ ‭NKJV‬‬

I can remember clearly the mournful tones of her voice as she asked repeatedly, why. Why is the Lord deaf to my pleas ? Why has He not sent help? What else must I do to make Him answer me ? She stated reading her manifesto of good deeds, regular tithes, alms to the poor, and donations to missionary outfits. Suddenly she stood up, rushed to her room, and brought out a big box full of music cassettes, audio and video then between sobs, she told me how a preacher told her that singing songs of worship, moves God to action, and how she’s been singing daily all to no avail. I told her as kindly as I could that she was full of religion and she hated me for saying so, I think she still does. I was a young pastor then, yet to learn pastoral tact, but truth is truth, many people in church are there, not for God and His glory but for solutions to their many challenges.

Man was made to glorify God, he therefore can only find true satisfaction, doing that for which he was made. Stop looking for the magic button in God, it does not exist, because God is not a computer. Paying tithes, and singing songs, giving alms and even fasting, are more like bribes if they are done with the intention of getting something from God. If it is worship, it must aim at God and be poured on Him alone.

We live to glorify Him, not so that He may satisfy our desires but our desires and dreams find satisfaction in His being glorified. My dear friend, it is all about His glory. You were born for His glory, all He has given you are for His glory, all your lacks are for His glory, and all He will yet give you will be for His glory. Man is most satisfied when God is most glorified.
Glorify Him and be satisfied doing so.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 61804.64
ETH 3395.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51