Why You Need to Know that Jesus is My LORD (And No Other Need Apply)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #christianity8 years ago

Footnoting "Agorism; How To Become Free in an Unfree World"

If you've been tracking my series on agorism, you may be wondering what happened to Part 3: Bye-Bye Politics? I intended to publish that next, but it has not been writing itself. While I struggle to make Part 3: coherent, I'll bring you this explanatory footnote to my agorism series.

I Wrote This Footnote for Two People:

  • My Anarchist/Agorist Friend who doesn't think I can simultaneously be a Christian
  • My Christian Friend who doesn't think I can simultaneously be an Anarchist/Agorist

Each of you will have a different "take-away" from this article, but I hope you both will find it enlightening.

The Agora

Behold, the Agora! Voluntary, Free Exchange...

Photo courtesy of Juan ignacio Tapia and http://unsplash.com

I agree with @sethlinson's summary of how a Christian can be an Anarchist:

"I do not believe any man has the right to rule over anyone else, nor can he gain that right through birth, decree or vote.

Horizontally, I am an anarchist. But I do have a King. Kingship belongs to the Lord (Psalm 22:28).

Vertically, I am a monarchist. Jesus is King."

NOTE: Though I disagree on some points, I highly recommend @sethlinson's series: INDEX HERE

However, I think some background about my beliefs may help you understand me better, no matter where you're coming from.

What Underlying Beliefs Drive Me?

I seek here not to argue nor to defend my beliefs; I ask not that you share them; my appeal to you is only that you understand where I am coming from. With that in mind, here is a list of the fundamental truths I hold to that make me consider myself aa Christian Anarchist.

1) Scripture Originates with God

At the core of my belief system, I accept the Hebrew/Christian scriptures as originating with God, and therefore true and reliable as a guide for my life.

"All Scripture is breathed out by God and profitable for teaching, for reproof, for correction, and for training in righteousness," - II Timothy 3:16

2) Jesus Is God

The person commonly known as Jesus the Christ is in fact God, The LORD and Creator of the universe.

"To them belong the patriarchs, and from their race, according to the flesh, is the Christ, who is God over all, blessed forever. Amen." - Romans 9:5

and

"He (Jesus) is the image of the invisible God, the firstborn of all creation. For by him all things were created, in heaven and on earth, visible and invisible, whether thrones or dominions or rulers or authorities—all things were created through him and for him. And he is before all things, and in him all things hold together." - Colossians 1:15-17

Because I recognize Jesus as my maker, I also acknowledge Him as the only absolute authority over me. I hope as we go along that you will better understand why that troubles me not in the least, and that I yield to His authority voluntarily.

The Golden Rule

I Believe In The Golden Rule

Photo courtesy of Nina Strehl and http://unsplash.com

3) We are Not Meant to Rule Other Men

Jesus claims all authority in every realm. This leaves none for other pretenders.

"And Jesus came and said to them, “All authority in heaven and on earth has been given to me." - Matthew 28:18

How much authority? All! Only in heaven? No, also on earth! Has it been given to human governments? No, it has been given to Jesus.

And Jesus called them to him and said to them, “You know that those who are considered rulers of the Gentiles lord it over them, and their great ones exercise authority over them. 43 But it shall not be so among you. But whoever would be great among you must be your servant,[d] 44 and whoever would be first among you must be slave[e] of all. 45 For even the Son of Man came not to be served but to serve, and to give his life as a ransom for many.” - Mark 10:42-45

Recognizing Jesus as the sole authority, I am opposed to all rule or violent control of men by other men. Therefore, my Anarchist Friend, you have nothing to fear from me.

4) Jesus Loves Me

I believe that Jesus actually loves me, in the greatest, strongest, most altruistic and magnificent sense of the word.

“For God so loved the world,[a] that he gave his only Son, that whoever believes in him should not perish but have eternal life." - John 3:16

and

"I in them and you in me, that they may become perfectly one, so that the world may know that you sent me and loved them even as you loved me." - John 17:23

Because of my unswerving belief in His love for me, I have no fear or compunctions whatsoever about willingly submitting to His authority.

5) Jesus Has Liberated Me

Jesus has set me free from the compulsion to do evil. I believe that, as a Christian, I am freeest among men, able to chose among an infinite variety of good paths for my life.

So Jesus said to the Jews who had believed him, “If you abide in my word, you are truly my disciples, and you will know the truth, and the truth will set you free... So if the Son sets you free, you will be free indeed.” - John 8:31-32, 36

6) Jesus Has Rescued Me from Death

Jesus has set me free from the fear of death. He has promised me eternal life, and I'm not talking about some mystical, spiritual existence in an ethereal realm; I mean a real, live, permanently healthy, physical body in a restored universe.

"I give them eternal life, and they will never perish, and no one will snatch them out of my hand.” - John 10:28

and

"For this is the will of my Father, that everyone who looks on the Son and believes in him should have eternal life, and I will raise him up on the last day.” - John 6:40

7) Jesus Is Preparing New Heavens and a New Earth For Me to Enjoy

Image

Background Meme Image is a portion of an image courtesy of NASA, ESA, and the Hubble Heritage Team (STScI/AURA)-ESA/Hubble Collaboration (HubbleSite: gallery, NewsCenter) [Public domain], via Wikimedia Commons

This world, all my troubles, all my struggles with human government, and all pain and suffering will one day come to an end. And, by God's kindness, I expect to be there to see it.

"But be glad and enjoy that which I create forever; for behold, I create Jerusalem to be a joy, and her people to be a gladness.” - Isaiah 65:18

and

And he who was seated on the throne said, “Behold, I am making all things new.” Also he said, “Write this down, for these words are trustworthy and true.” - Revelation 21:5

And so, my friends, once you understand that I truly believe these things, the result of those beliefs should become clear to you. Although we may be as different as cats and dogs, I am not your enemy. I believe we can learn from one another and bless one another.

To My Fellow Anarchist:

My only interaction with governments these days is one of resistance and denying my consent for the evil they do. I despise all government attempts to rule by force.

You have nothing to fear from me. I recognize your freedom as I exercise my own. I only wish for you to understand that I voluntarily yield to Jesus as LORD, and I trust you to allow me the freedom to do so.

IMHO, Jesus is the epitome of a "benevolent dictator." He gives me absolute freedom to do right. He is all powerful, and has promised me an incredible future, the authentic, physical fulfillment of all that I could ever hope for or dream of. I invite you to join me in that future.

Cats and Dogs

We May Be Different, But...

Photo courtesy of Andrew Branch and http://unsplash.com

To My Fellow Christian:

Isn't it past time that you stop worshiping human government? Didn't Jesus say "Love your neighbor as yourself?" When we support violence-based human governments, we are violating that command.

I have come to believe that human government is one of the greatest manifestations of the "gates of hell" on earth. Most human-based "laws" are not in alignment with righteousness. Human government is, in essence, "the beast" portrayed in Revelation. When we yield the fruit of our labor (taxes) to that beast without any attempt to resist, we become complicit in the violence of abortion and war.

Because of the beliefs I've listed, I am at ease governing my own behavior, my enterprises, my entire life on the basis of biblically informed morality rather than submission to merely human rules and regulations.

Thanks for being patient with me as I work my way through this series. Thanks also for sharing my story with friends who might find it interesting.


Next Time (we hope) - Part 3: Bye-Bye Politics

Leaving "Government" In My Rear-View Mirror


In case you want to catch up on past episodes:

Part 1: Pre-Agorist Days

Part 2: Tax Honesty


About This Series


I'll be telling more of the story of my journey to voluntaryism than I've told anywhere before. I intend to include some strategies and examples, and hope to inspire you to action.

Follow creatr? Click Here.

Comments, questions? Please "chime in" below!

Sort:  

Thank you, @anns, for your encouragement... :) ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61533.72
ETH 3447.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51