Thoughts for the day - 3/1/18

in #christianity7 years ago (edited)

Whom have I in heaven but you? And earth has nothing I desire besides you. My flesh and my heart may fail, but God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever.
—Psalm 73:25-26

So it is easy to read this and simply say Amen. Yet in reality, we desire much here on earth. We desire much for ourselves, for our children, friends and neighbors, this is all well indeed. What is necessary then is to ensure that which we desire does not replace or displace that which is everlasting. Let there be great abundance in your life of the gifts from the Father, which fill each day with joy. Let there be copious amounts of love and voluminous amounts of hope; let the day be filled with works of the Spirit as His desires become yours.

Many Blessings.

Craig

Sort:  

After all is said and done, God is the only constant. That is why His name is I AM.

Christ said before Abraham, I AM. Not I was, or I will be, but I AM.

Many times we fall, we rise, we cry, we smile, but through it all, if we are on the Christian journey, we realise that He was there all the time.

God is the strength of my heart and my portion, FOREVER. Amen

I really love hearing from you!

Many times we fall, we rise, we cry, we smile, but through it all, if we are on the Christian journey, we realise that He was there all the time.

Yes, every time, every fall, holding our hand. Alleluia.

Have a blessed day.

Our lives would have been better if all we desire is God, but we human crave for worldly things...

you quoted holy words !

This is a great post. Thank you for sharing the Word of God and for all that you do here on Steemit!

Good to hear from you again and thank you very much for the kind words.
If we all do are part, we'll get to keep this platform for a while.

Blessings!

Yes, I certainly hope it's here to stay. I want to do more with bots and helping keep it clean. It's a lot to learn though.

There's a saying : When in Rome do as the Romans do. Can we say therefore: When on earth do as the earthlings do? Funny as this may sound it depicts the constant struggle that we go through in our earthly existence. Being of the flesh, we seek the things of the flesh and all the pleasures it brings us. But our mission in life is to deny these things and seek that which is spiritual. This is simply impossible to do. But, as I mentioned in yesterday's reading, "Believe in God's love. Believe in God's mercy. Believe in God's power. For He will make possible that which we think is not.

Yes, this is all true.

I find myself wanting less "stuff", perhaps it is the Spirit shaping my heart, but could just be old age an I'm tired of having to fix it all. :)

Same here. I've noticed that what seemed important before don't matter so much now. I used to dream of travel and owning a bigger house and a better car but it seems happiness isn't found in these things anymore. The simpler the better. Priorities have changed. That's why I always look forward to Thoughts as a way to end the day. It helps in refocusing my priorities.

If you have the time click here to see how Thoughts ends my day : ()

That is wisdom my friend. I've known a lot of joyful people and I've know a lot of wealthy people, but I've never know any really joyful wealthy people.

Just give me a warm pair of socks a bowl of soup and a virtuous wife. The rest is frosting on a perfect cake. But you know what happens if you have too much frosting :)

Blessings and good night (on this end.)

I edited my comment above but your UV beat me to it.

It is natural that men tend to chase his world ... but the best men are those who submit themself to God's Will since we're all in spirit will return back to God. We are nothing before creation and will be back to nothing once we leave this world. May God provide us a better life in heaven.

Very true my friend, very true.

I also hope you have a great life while you are here on earth!

Blessings.

Yea,this is great,we should have a heart and desire for the things of God,we should give priorities to the kingdom of God than earthly things,2 Corinthians 4:18 While we look not at the things which are seen, but at the things which are not seen: for the things which are seen are temporal; but the things which are not seen are eternal.

Indeed, we all should but often don't. I am so guilty of this daily. I thank God for is forgiveness.

Be blessed this day!

This is where I hope to be, Craig. Increasingly, drawn to the dictates of the Spirit & dying to this world. Thank you, for reminding us of this truth.

Here is an echo of sorts:

"The life of sensation is the life of greed; it requires more and more. The life of the spirit requires less and less..." —Annie Dillard

Stay blessed, brother 🙏🏼

Thank you for the kind reply.

I really like the quote. I hope to remember it.

Blessings this day and the ones to come!

Each creative achievement, and each thanks poem, and each article, and each success thanks and appreciation.
hank you from the bottom of my heart for your constant bidding, praise words do not spoil your right, thank for gifts and peace.

Nice thoughts i we upvoted and followed thanks for the advice

Thanks bycoleman, Your introbot brought me here, and while I'm not religious I appreciate you and the service you are providing those in the space, so I've followed you. Keep it up brother!

Thank you for the kind words and the follow. I do hope my posts will offer something of value to all, even those like me who are not religious, but instead just a simple believer.

Blessings and have a joyous day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68363.69
ETH 2642.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69