"He Maketh Me to Lie Down In Green Pastures..."

in #christianity7 years ago (edited)

Jesus lamb.jpg
I was reading Psalm 23, a familiar passage of Scripture found within the Old Testament of the Bible and it spoke to me in a fresh new way! I'd like to share it with you...

The Bible says that the Lord is my Shepherd and that we have need of nothing as long as He is our Shepherd. There are some beautiful elements to this discourse, but the thing that really stands out to me is being able to "lie down in green pastures".
green pastures.jpg
Does this literally mean that you will go out and find a pasture or field with some extra green grass and go lie down there? Maybe find your nearest golf course and find a green spot? I don't think that is what it is necessarily saying there and I think we can all agree on that one.

What The Lord is desiring is for us to be able to enter into a state of peace and tranquility to where we trust in Him enough....Knowing that He is at the Helm and that He controls all things and is in charge of the situation. I haven't always chosen to make the Lord my Shepherd because sometimes I tended to trust in myself to fix everything. But I am learning that when I make the LORD my Shepherd, then He will lead me to those green pastures where I may find peace in Him and through him.

Here is the complete 23rd Psalm from the KJV-Public Domain.

PSALM 23
1 The Lord is my shepherd; I shall not want.

2 He maketh me to lie down in green pastures: he leadeth me beside the still waters.

3 He restoreth my soul: he leadeth me in the paths of righteousness for his name's sake.

4 Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil: for thou art with me; thy rod and thy staff they comfort me.

5 Thou preparest a table before me in the presence of mine enemies: thou anointest my head with oil; my cup runneth over.

6 Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life: and I will dwell in the house of the Lord for ever.

King James Version (KJV)
Public Domain

Sort:  

That's a great Psalm. I've often rehearsed that in my mind when going through dark and troubling times.

I know what you mean.... It does seem like this passage frequently comes to mind during the tough times!

Very nice, upvoted and followed

So beautiful!! We hear this Psalm often but do we really think about what it says? The Lord is my Shepherd; I shall Not want .. that's powerful! Thanks for posting!

@suziescorner
Thank very much for your comment! Psalm 23 is a power passage of Scripture and offers so much peace and assurance from the lord. Glad you appreciated the post! :)

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of Apr 26. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $2.05 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Apr 26 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63398.53
ETH 2660.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77