You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Constantine: The Battle that Birthed Christendom

in #christianity6 years ago

Constantine marked the beginning of the false church, the Roman Catholic Church, and the beginning of 1500 years of persecution against real Christians.

Constantine merged real Christianity with Roman paganism. Roman gods became patron saints. Pagan holidays became "Christian holidays. Mary became a goddess.

Sort:  

I hear you. Their were a lot of negative effects associated with this event.

I would agree that the church seriously degraded after this point. However, I would also say that it was a gradual decline. Many of the issues within the church began either before or after this event.

I am no catholic, (stay tuned for a much less catholic post on October 31st), however this event had profound influence on the church and deserved to be remembered. I don't necessarily agree with all the views and actions of the figures I write about.

Thanks for your comment and thanks for reading.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60385.82
ETH 2321.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51