A Most Peculiar Day

in #christianity7 years ago

What a day! So, its Sunday, and I normally don't go to work on Sundays, but today I did. I work at a dog daycare/boarding facility near my house, and its a fun job. The dogs are great, an the work is easy. But anyway, I went to work an hour late because my schedule said 8 when my supervisor's said 7. Oops! I got there and sorted things out, then went to work deep cleaning the feed room. Cleaning the feed room takes me like an hour because it is a lot of work packed into a small room. It takes a while to vacuum, wipe and spray lysol on 7-15 larger crates, and vacuum and mop the floors because there are giant fuzz balls following me around looking for their next meal. But deep cleaning takes MUCH longer. Not only do we have to take all the crates (used or unused) out to spray off, the floors, fans, cabinates, compartments and cubbies, drawers, doors, and fridge need to be vacuumed, wiped off and sprayed with lysol. Then the cabinates and drawers need to be reorganized, the soap dispenser and cleaning solution need to be refilled, and the dog bowls need to be washed. The floors need to be vacuumed and mopped again because the hair and dust from everything else made the floor look like a sea of fur, and the crates need to be put back. All 20-30 of them. And keep in mind, all of this needs to be done while avoiding the 7+ dogs trying to see what I'm doing.

Three hours later, I finally finished. But in the midst of all the furious scrubbing, I get called away by one of the new owners of the company to talk. Not a good sign right? Thoughts are flashing through my mind "Did I forget something? I've done a good job, and worked hard. I haven't been late (except for today) ... etc." I go into the office and sit down with the owner. She describes that because I was the last person to be hired by the company and they don't have enouch hours for me, that I was not going to be on the payroll for next week. In fact, things are slowing down, so I might not be on the payroll for some time, but I would be on call if they needed me. So I kinda just got fired from my first job. Now, you might expect that I walked back to the feed room (to finish my scrubbing) with my head down and my mind racing on what to do next. But actually I thanked my employer, and walked out in the best of spirits. It was as kind and gracefull as a laying off could be, and they made it clear that it had nothing to do with me at all. They said some very kind things about my work and attitude while working there, and it felt like everything was as it should be. It was then that I realized that God had provided me with a solution to my problem.

Let me explain. I own horses, and my mom works every morning of the week. It was going to be really hard to get to work on time for both me and my mom and feed the horses before we left. I am going to be teaching piano and taking more lessons with my horses, and I'm trying to start an online business too. God knew that I wasn't going to have time for it all, and that something was going to have to give; so He worked it out perfectly. I now have time for my piano teaching, horse lessons, online business, more steemit posts, and more free time without needing to send in my notice of resignation. I had been asking God to sort everything out because I knew that I wouldn't be able to, and He TOTALLY took care of it. So now as I write, waiting in anticipation of what God will do next, I'm reminded of Romans 8:28 "And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose." It serves as a reminder to me and anyone else reading this, that if we seek the Lord and wait for His timing, things will turn out much better than if we had planned it ourselves.

God is good!! Thanks for reading.

Sort:  

Nice. Funny how he uses literally the LAST thing you would choose to do, and flips it into something better. Good luck with piano and whatnot!

Congratulations @atribble7! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58539.27
ETH 2627.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40