Breakdown to Breakthrough

in #christianity7 years ago (edited)

12993635_1699466743644785_7362127510920825701_n.jpg

"Sometimes it takes an overwhelming breakdown to have an undeniable breakthrough."

Something happened the other night where I was called out on a couple bad habits of mine. I question and doubt people's feelings and actions, and tend to think that when there is a problem it is my fault. We all have things we are working on and right now those are the things that I am working on.

We all have things we are working on and sometimes the only way to overcome an old habit is to hit rock bottom. I hit rock bottom the other day.

When we hit the bottom, the only way out is up. I realized that nothing can get worse if you can't go down any further. I also realized that the only person that can get you out of that trench is Jesus. Other people can help make you aware of your bad habits or call you out on them, but no one can change your situation except for God and yourself. You can't rely on other people to help you overcome something; it's on you to take that first step. You need to have the desire and the willingness to admit to your bad habit and ask God for help. Ask Jesus to come in and change your mindset. The only way to change is to be renewed from the inside out. And the only way to continue to grow and overcome your habit is to constantly renew your mind with Jesus.

Setting time aside each day to spend time with Jesus is important and will help a ton when trying to change an old habit. This past week had been a busy one and I have to admit, I wasn't spending quality time with Jesus. I was doing devotional time, but I wasn't having that quiet time with Him where I would just let Him wash over me and speak to me. For me, that quality time is outdoors in nature either going for walks (walks along the beach are amazing) or runs. I wasn't doing that and the night I got called out on my bad habits was the night I realized that "wow, not spending that quality time with God is really impacting my relationships with others and with myself." That night was a wake-up call. Being intentional about spending quality time with Jesus in your busy day is important, every day. I know and understand that lives can get busy, but setting a time aside is super important and is a must in order to overcome and grow spiritually and emotionally.

We need to stop running away from our past and our old identities because when we run, that means that something is chasing us. For some, like myself, it is our past and our past behaviors that we are running away from. Nothing is going to change if you don’t stop and allow God work on you. We need to learn to be still and allow God to speak to us in order for our past's to be defeated in CHRIST JESUS.

I love this passage in the bible that says “He lets me rest in green meadows; he leads me beside peaceful streams. He renews my strength. He guides me along right paths, bringing honor to His name” (Psalm 23:2-3).

When we learn to steady our bodies and allow peace to settle within us, that’s when God does the healing that we so desperately need. When we allow Him to guide our thoughts and actions, that’s when peace overwhelms and overflows our spirits.

God, thank you for our lives and for renewing our spirits. Thank you for making all things new. I ask that you allow your peace, strength, and wisdom to overflow within us. Please give us the peace to know that when we’ve got you on our side we don’t need to fear. You comfort and protect us. Thank you for being an amazing Father and never giving up on us. In Jesus’ name I pray, Amen.

Sort:  

Congratulations @alepich! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Vote
You got a First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61305.83
ETH 3302.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48