LIFE EXPERIENCES

in #christian6 years ago

stock-photo-grandmother-and-children-taking-a-walk-outdoors-92526331.jpg

Yesterday I had the joy of meeting up with my daughter and her two children. Whilst the girls went off shopping my grandson and I waited for them to return and we were chatting about the general goings on around us. He then asked me why everyone looked grumpy and not as if they were happy to be at the shops.
So I said to him that we were going to try something. As people passed as, we were going to give their a cheery "hello".
He thought this was funny but nevertheless joined in.

The interesting result was, so many folk were taken aback at our saying "good morning" to them, they smiled and some even engaged in a little conversation with us.

Try it sometime. You will be pleasantly surprised at how many friendly people are rushing around in the world around us and perhaps a cheery hello will help to make their day.

My grandson loved the experience so much and asked if we can do this again and his sister wants to join in the next time we go shopping.

Thats our job as grandmothers. Teach them whilst they are young.

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing this lesson with your grandson. I always try to treat others with kindness & acceptance. One of the most important things to do is acknowledge one another. For years now, with everyone I encounter, I say hello, smile and/or nod at them. It may seem a small thing, but, sometimes that may be the only nicety they receive that day.

Exactly. I like to praise the tellers and packers at the counters. Gosh it must be so boring and they give up their public holidays and Sundays to serve us. Yes a little kindness goes a long way.

My husband & I have both worked in customer support, in various capacities. So we know how people can behave with those in the service industry. Whether on the phone or in person, one of the first things I say is, hello, how are you doing? The way their voice changes, you can tell they're not used to that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66038.71
ETH 3178.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05