New Year's Poem

in #christian7 years ago (edited)

I wrote this at the end of 2016, and I was looking for something to post, so I thought I would just post this. This poem is very personal, but sometimes I think showing the raw is good, and it is kind of my testimony. Hope it encourages you and lifts you up!

I write again just to express,
My thoughts on present day.
I need to write right now lest,
My thoughts leave me astray.
For tomorrow begins another Year,
Another chance, a brand new day,
So at my life and the past I peer.

Such regrets and sorrows carry,
I from twelve months past.
I will tell of some, I do not tarry,
Lest the memories do not last.
Yes, last New Year's day I spent weeping,
I don't deny my heart was broken,
But God's grace came softly creeping,
Yes, my Lord has spoken.

Sins and mistakes--many I made,
I am just a selfish little child.
I am not pure like ruby or jade,
I don't reflect either meek or mild.
Friendships were made and broken,
While I searched for love.
I searched for sign or token,
That God was real above.

Pity I did not trust Him,
Yet so desperate was I,
For any kind or caring friend,
Often I wished to die.
Somehow God had mercy,
Gave me balm to heal my soul.
He saw me, oh so needy,
And found a part to play the role.

A bright and cheerful smile,
To brighten her darkened day,
A friendly hand to hold awhile,
As she went on her darkened way.
Hazel eyes, bright blond hair,
And a smile to light her eyes,
God brought me a gift of care,
To show me again the bright blue skies.

Through the sorrows and the tears,
God gave me such sweet friends.
He gave me such precious dears,
To help my soul slowly mend.
He taught me to ne're forget,
All the blessed times,
When I cursed all my regrets,
And they put their hands in mine.

I know not what the future holds in store,
I know more trials shall come my way.
But I know ever experience is another door,
To walk into a bright new day.
Such gifts I have, such treasures,
Each in his or her own way,
They'll never know how much pleasure,
They bring me everyday.

I end this with a prayer,
To my King Who knows all things.
He knows my burdens and all my cares,
It's to Him my praises sing.
Though all my woes and anxiety,
I ask You to carry me.
Teach me purity and also piety,
Teach me to wisdom and glory see.

I trust this new new year,
Of two-thousand-seventeen,
Will hold many joys as well as tears,
But bring us nearer to our King.
As time so quickly travels by,
Help us, Lord, remember always,
To where we go when we leave this life,
It's for You we live all our days.


source of img: static.wixstatic.com/media/0455b4_4b2d629aab274550aa85674c39945d7d~mv2_d_2060_1236_s_2.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations @sourceofthought! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 58269.26
ETH 3067.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.25