Steemians: Generosity the Act of Unselfishness

in #christian7 years ago (edited)

What is generosity? According to https://www.vocabulary.com/ 

Generosity is a quality that's a lot like unselfishness. Someone showing generosity is happy to give time, money, food, or kindness to people in need. Generosity is a quality — like honesty and  patience — that we all probably wish we had more of. When you show  generosity, you might give away things or money or put others before  yourself.  But generosity is about more than cash and stuff. When you're  forgiving and gentle to people, you show generosity of spirit. If you  give others help or credit, that shows generosity. The world would  certainly be a better place if more people showed generosity to others.
 

No doubts that this highly regards definition about Generosity and being unselfish is popular nowadays. Many people likes to just withhold whatever goods they may able to share with others until certain conditions met by those people who needed help so much. But in another side of the coin, there people who has a habit of giving--but giving of what are only leftover in their stock house, staffs that they don't really needed, leftover food that kept for a long time in their refrigerators and the like. It is not wrong to give but be sure to give generously and without putting any conditions that in the end will benefit you so much. When we seek the good of others through our unselfish act of giving on what they needed most, because they have no enough resources to fulfill it, then our generosity becomes morally acceptable because with didn't withhold what are really intended for them. God is so gracious that He sees your good deeds and surely will reward you for it.

As I read the bible today I was so touched by the power of God's word about our decision and choice to become a generous persons that God is expecting from us . Proverbs 3:27-28 says:

https://www.biblegateway.com/

27 Do not withhold good from those to whom it is due,
when it is in your power to act.
28 Do not say to your neighbor,
“Come back tomorrow and I’ll give it to you”—
when you already have it with you. 

As I reflect on it, I ask myself if it is possible for me to still do the act of generosity for this community even though I am only a minnow who do not have much power to influence. And my mind and heart keeps on telling me that is the most rightful thing to do. You don't show generosity by commenting and up-voting others content simply because you are expecting a return favor in them. Let my name be included under those minnow members who will always do their best to contribute and add value for the cost of the advocacy of steemit community by using a little of what (steem power) we have.

I will continue to interact to the best of my ability, I will continue to show generosity by making upvotes even though it will not turn out favorable to me. So thank you guys for the space your provided me here. It's a privilege indeed! God bless you all

 

Sort:  

@teotwawkiman thanks for your upvote. God bless you more.

Thank you. And Blessings with you too my friend!

I resteemed this one for you! :)

you are the first generous person who did this kindness to me and I will never forget it. Thank you again :)

Well that means alot to me too. I will remember your thankfulness as well! Don't be a stranger. I won't :).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63326.84
ETH 2648.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82