WordWise outreach to Belgium

in #christian7 years ago

It was my privilege, once again, to visit Belgium during November for a time of ministry. The work that we did in the city of Brussels in 1998 when WordWise started as a ministry, continues to bear fruit. It still amazes me how this ministry started and continues to grow.

The charter class of 1998 was an interesting international mixture of various nationalities and cultures. Many of those first students are in full time ministry today, some in Belgium and others in their home countries, or somewhere else. After all this time these “students” are still friends that stay together, even though some fellowship via social media.

Visiting Europe, and especially Belgium, where we made so many friends and enjoyed such rich fellowship, is always a blessing. There is something about that country that touches a string in my heart, maybe because I always find an open heaven there!

This visit my focus was on the Filipino community. There is a vibrant Christian Filipino community in Belgium with several churches in and around the city of Brussels.

My first meeting was in the home of believers in Brussels where we enjoyed a lovely meal together, Filipino style, with several people present. This evolved in an answer and question session as they peppered me with questions, mostly about church life and governance. I always enjoy such meetings and find it very rewarding.

23559444_1669274199759414_9172047536226372161_n.jpg

The following day was Sunday. Emmanuel Otoo gave me a ride to New Testament Ministries International in Brussels, a vibrant African church led by Rev. Daniel Owusu. Brother Otoo is one of our first graduates, and a co-pastor in this church. Pastor Otoo is a man with a golden voice; can I ever forget his acapella group of singers in those early years!

The worship, the lovely African attire and their openness make ministry a joyful experience. I spoke here before, and count it an honour to stand behind their pulpit. Did you know that people that are hungry for the Word draw from a deep well within you when you preach the Word?

After the service brother Otoo took me all the way to Antwerp where I was scheduled to speak at the afternoon service of Praise Center, led by pastor Nestor and Ophie Panopio. Ophie attended our class in 1998, and continues to serve in ministry together with her husband. They always host me when I visit the city of Brussels, and take care of me in true Filipino hospitality from meals, fellowship and lovely coffee times, to getting me where I need to be. They are my contacts in Brussels, and the people to talk to if you want me to minister at your church or home group.

The Monday evening following we went to a home fellowship group of Light House Center, a Filipino church led by pastor Clemente. We found the house packed with some people even sitting on the stairs. After we spent some time worshiping together, I spoke about the time that we live in, and how it ties in with the prophetic message of the Bible.

As is the custom when you visit a Filipino home, we were treated to a lovely meal before we headed home.

23473211_1670794469607387_3658942251071729491_n.jpg

During meetings I spent time with the Panopio family, fellowshiping around the things of the Word and ministry in general.

I was also contacted by a pastor in the Philippines who expressed interest in the mentoring that we provide through WordWise. We enrolled him as a correspondence student, but he faces some challenges without the proper equipment as he only has a smart phone to receive lessons and do homework, and that is not enough. He needs a computer to make things possible! He also has other pastors that are eager to enroll.

A visit to the Philippines is in the plans for the near future, possibly to establish some form of school where these ministers can meet to be equipped for the work of the ministry.

This visit once again pointed out the great need for the teacher’s ministry. The Lord provided the ministry of the teacher to answer the questions that people have, and to help them walk in greater fullness of His plan for them. Teachers not only help believers walk away from traps that the devil caught them in, but also to avoid falling for his schemes and setups.

The Saturday following my first week there a very exciting meeting was scheduled with some 1998 grads that were able to make it. We caught up with news since it is now 19 years that we left Belgium to settle in Canada. It was such a blessing to meet these people, and hear their stories over a lovely meal and tasty treats. What a blessing and great fulfillment it was to see these warriors still going strong for the Lord, and the work that He called them to! This is what makes it worth our time and effort, and inspires us to continue on as stewards of the anointing that we have been graced with.

23760157_1675496859137148_145453787_o.jpg

Thank you to Gina Tok (Singapore) who treated Ophie and myself to lunch at The New Fox restaurant. Gina is also a 1998 grad. She was on her way to Israel, but made some time to meet with us.

That brings us to the last service at Light House Center, a Filipino church led by pastor Clemente. He was in Canada at the time and it was my privilege to fill in for him. I enjoyed the pure worship and hunger of this church, and, once again, experienced how their hunger for the Word drew the sentences and words out of me as I spoke on thoughts, and how they impact our lives.

A huge “thank you” to those that support our ministry financially that make these visits possible. You share in the work that was done there, and the opportunities that flow out of this visit.

Thank you also to pastor Nestor and Ophie Panopio for making all the arrangements, including transportation, for feeding me and the times of fellowship that kept me going while away from home. You are generals in the Lord’s service and I appreciate you and your selfless service every time that I visit there.

Screen Shot 2017-12-05 at 2.16.14 PM.png

I regard it an honor to serve with them, and I look forward to sharing what we have received from the Lord with the churches in the Philippines.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67200.37
ETH 3331.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77