Is The Bible Copyright? - Some Versions Are - But Some Are not!

in #christian7 years ago

Is it OK to use text from the Bible on artwork ?

It depends!

I have heard arguments in the past that the Bible is God's Word and should be readily available to use for everyone. That is true of the original text. Most translations fall under copyright law.

You may use text from the Public Domain versions of the Bible on your artwork, but did you know that you may use text from the copyright versions of the Bible, usually from 200-500 words, only as long as it does not make up more than 20-25% (depending on translations) of the text, and the usage is not commercial ? So, because the Bible quotes on my artwork make up 100% of the text, I may not use a copyright version without express permission from the publisher.

This site is a good resource, and should answer most of the questions you may have.

I use only Public Domain versions in my artwork. There are plenty available, but my favorite is the World English Bible (WEB), translated specifically to avoid copyright hassles!

Of course, you can write to a publisher and ask for express permission, but it is granted usually only for non-commercial usage! Because I am publishing my artwork on Steemit, and I stand to make a profit from doing so, the usage would be considered commercial. So, sticking to Public Domain versions allows me to have a good conscience, knowing that I have not deprived publishers of their income.

The image of an eastern tiger swallowtail butterfly resting on a coneflower (echinacea angustifolia) was photographed in Georgia, USA with one of my early digital cameras - the Canon EOS 10D using the 100.0-300.0 mm zoom lens.
Camera settings: 1/180 sec; f/8; ISO 400

Text from the World English Bible (WEB)
Image © Diane Macdonald. All Rights Reserved.
butterfly2.jpg
Link to my RM image on Alamy

Thanks for taking the time to read this! I appreciate it.

To find my photography and designs on Steemit, please search on #dianemacphoto.

Sort:  

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63956.43
ETH 3320.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.92