Is Jesus An Egomaniac?

in #christian7 years ago (edited)

From calebballen.com

There has been no greater reawakening of my personal affections toward and desire to behold the glory and beauty of the Lord Jesus Christ in my life than has taken place over this past week. It is truly an overwhelmingly incomprehensible joy that I have discovered in immersing myself into the rediscovery of Jesus in my life. My perspectives on life and my current situation have been shifted in a transformative way that I can only assume to be a permanent fixture of new manifestation of my Christianity.

In an effort to capitalize on this period of joyful rediscovery and to extend it beyond a mere encounter into a full fledged persistent way of life, I have decided to methodically walk through the book of John, chronicling my discoveries along the way. I’ll be moving slowly through this book as I take the time to listen to multiple sermons and read multiple commentaries about each passage. I want to glean as much Jesus out of this book as I can. More than that, I want to chronicle how Christ continually transforms my life through each new revelation of His person and beauty.

Should this blog be a source of blessing or encouragement to you, I will count that as an unexpected bonus. The true intent of this blog is not to preach to you or even to share with you what God is doing and has done in my life through this study. Rather, the purpose is for continued self-examination and intentionality, while also seeking the accountability that comes from the expectation of sharing itself. It is much more difficult to become passive when one must share the findings of his studies. With that in mind, I want to share something not from John as a springboard into the study of the book of John.

I listened to a sermon that asked the question if Jesus was an egomaniac. The reason being that Jesus himself uses phraseology such as, “He that loveth father or mother more than me is not worthy of me: and he that loveth son or daughter more than me is not worthy of me. And he that taketh not his cross, and followeth after me, is not worthy of me.” (Matthew 10:37-38) God the Father has a similar way of speaking, referring to Himself as a “jealous God”. Even going so far as to say His very Name is Jealous. (Exodus 34:14)

The point being that these examples are not outliers, but are rather essential to the character of God and the person of Jesus Christ. This attitude is essential to who they are and cannot be separated from their nature.

So, is Jesus egomaniacal for saying such things?

The pastor pointed out two things that are true and then concluded that intersection of those two things must also be true. The first being that true love desires and works and is wiling to suffer to enthrall the beloved with the fullest and longest happiness.

It is a universal truth that everyone is seeking the fullest and longest happiness. We all want to be as happy as possible for as long as possible. Our lives are defined by that pursuit without exception. Therefore, love is defined by seeking, working for and sacrificing so that the fullest and longest happiness can be gained by someone we love.

The second truth is that being eternally enthralled with Jesus is the fullest and longest happiness in the universe. Jesus is the wisest, smartest, greatest, most powerful, most beautiful, most loving, most just, most desirable and most valuable person in this entire universe. He is the very essence of God – but relatable in his manhood. We were created to be eternally enthralled with God through His Son Jesus Christ.

Therefore, when Jesus tells us we must love him and treasure him above all others, he is really loving us.

Loving someone is the opposite of egomania. Loving someone is the opposite of arrogance or dictatorship. Jesus loves us so much, that He, realizing that He Himself is the fullest, longest happiness that we could ever enjoy, seeks that for us. For Him to seek anything else for us would be for Him to deny who He is. He must be the most valuable or else He is not God.

Our happiness is found in valuing Him rightly and He truly does desire that for us. This is the Jesus that I am rediscovering. This is the Jesus that I can’t get enough of. This is the Jesus who is calling you to the same every single day. Can you see Him? Can you see him for who He is? Why not join me in taking a closer look?

Sort:  

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Jan 19. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $3.11 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jan 19 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Excellent! I've been exploring John recently and find it enthralling. For some reason I always read Matthew (Matt. 6:1-20 has been my "roadmap"), but John has drawn me. Being Catholic, I find John compelling, it reinforces my Faith. Upvoted!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63964.61
ETH 3433.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55