You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: [Blog] Thoughts from the Front Lines: The Business of Being Churched

I appreciated this article. I experienced a different model of church while living overseas, one that I feel matched more closely to first century believers. It has been incredibly difficult to "re-acclimate" back to traditional church life in the States. And in all honesty, I do not want to re-acclimate because I see less focus on being the body of Christ (especially in regards to discipleship and accountability) and more of a focus on programs and events.

I feel that the church (the people who trust Christ as Lord) need to STOP "going" to church and start "being" the church. Thanks for your thought provoking post.

Sort:  

You're welcome, and I appreciate the thoughtful comment. It seems like it's just so much easier to go along with a church instead of doing all the work required to act as Jesus modeled, and the ore entertainment that's added to the package, the easier it is to just shut the brain down and float along. It's good to know that this isn't the case everywhere and there are living churches other places: we're going to need them!

Amazing line. “... stop going to church and start being the church.” I’m going to be saying that now. It is so true!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57651.10
ETH 2377.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42