Lessons from Jonah 3

in #christian-trail6 years ago (edited)

Introduction

Hello everyone, its always such a pleasure to bring you the wisdom of God.

I started posting truths from the book of Jonah some time ago. In my first two posts on this series, I did justice to some things many people do not take to heart.

This story recorded in the book of Jonah, just like many others in the Bible, is so full of light and wisdom.

images (78).jpeg
Source

If you haven't done so already, I encourage you to read up the previous posts in this series to get a robust understanding of how we got here.

In this third part I'll be sharing some more wisdom I have gleaned from the story recorded in the book of Jonah.

Jonah 1:10-13 (NKJV)
10 Then the men were exceedingly afraid, and said to him, “Why have you done this?” For the men knew that he fled from the presence of the Lord, because he had told them.
11 Then they said to him, “What shall we do to you that the sea may be calm for us?”—for the sea was growing more tempestuous.
12 And he said to them, “Pick me up and throw me into the sea; then the sea will become calm for you. For I know that this great tempest is because of me.”

Explanation

Jonah was sailing with experienced sailors. But these guys soon came to terms with the fact that the storm against them on this particular occasion was unusual.

It became clear to them that the storm was unusually bent on destroying them.

So, then decided to cast lots and find out who among them had sinned against the gods to cause such a grave misfortune.

The lots fell on Jonah and they asked to speak up, introduce himself properly and tell them what he knew about what was going on. .

Jonah did exactly that. He introduced himself and confessed that he was running away from God.

Below are Some Life Changing Take Home Lessons

1. Jonah didn't have to ask them to throw him into the sea. That wasn't the only way forward.

He could have asked God for mercy and changed his mind about running away from God.

He could have made a vow to God that He'd head straight for Nineveh if God stopped the storm enough for them to turn the ship around.

He could have told the sailors that the way out was to all unanimously agree they would return him to the port where he boarded from.

Although God used the incidents that followed Jonah's actions for His glory, the point I'm making is, NEVER DECIDE TO SUFFER YOURSELF FOR YOUR SINS.

ALWAYS choose the route of mercy instead.

God takes pleasure in those who trust in His mercy.

2. Nothing is hid from God's eyes

I love what David said in Psalms 139:2, :7-12 about God's omnipresence.

Psalm 139:2-12
2 You know my sitting down and my rising up; You understand my thought afar off.
7 Where can I go from Your Spirit?
Or where can I flee from Your presence?
8 If I ascend into heaven, You are there; if I make my bed in hell, behold, You are there.
9 If I take the wings of the morning,
and dwell in the uttermost parts of the sea,
10 Even there Your hand shall lead me, and Your right hand shall hold me.
11 If I say, “Surely the darkness shall fall on me,” even the night shall be light about me;
12 Indeed, the darkness shall not hide from You, but the night shines as the day; the darkness and the light are both alike to You.

God knows all and sees all. Unlike David, Jonah didn't seem to know that God could see him anywhere he was and that there's no way one can hide from God.

So, the book of Jonah reminds me that nothing is hid from God's eyes.

God's eyes are always on the righteous for good (Psalm 34:15).

3. Those who Don't Take Advantage of God's Mercy Always Regret it

Jonah didn't know a great fish was going to swallow him and that he would regret trying to kill himself.

He didn't know he wasn't gonna die from drowning shortly after landing in the sea. He had no clue he was about to experience something worse than the storm.

You see, those who neglect the mercy of God go from frying pan to fire. Life becomes more and more frustrating and miserable when you fail to leverage on God's mercy.

Sort:  

Running from God is like running from air. Unescapable. Rest in mercy. @restandreign Long time no see brother!! Missed you

I can't even begin to explain how I missed you more @humanearl. Would have contacted you to check on you if I had another means of reaching you.

Since about a month ago, being here on Steemit has been so challenging. My business seemed to demand 101% of my time. In addition to that I just became a dad. I had to take a break.

Its much better with business now because God just blessed me with very competent hands to ease the workload and allow me some spare time.

I actually just resumed on Steemit this morning and what a blessing to have you stop by.

I know I have a lot to catch up with your posts. I'm so looking forward to reading your works.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 63782.14
ETH 3146.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55