June 22nd, 2017 - Daily Bible Inspiration

in #christian-trail7 years ago (edited)

Hello everyone,

Today will be the same format! Short scripture, devotional from ODB, my own perspective and of course, health update (until I'm 100%). I find today's Scripture so timely and amazing! I hope by the end of this, you will be greatly encouraged and blessed in Jesus' name. 


Scripture Reading: Habakkuk 1:1-4; 2:20

Habakkuk 1:1-4

 The prophecy that Habakkuk the prophet received.
How long, Lord, must I call for help,
but you do not listen?
Or cry out to you, “Violence!”
but you do not save?
Why do you make me look at injustice?
Why do you tolerate wrongdoing?
Destruction and violence are before me;
there is strife, and conflict abounds.
Therefore the law is paralyzed,
and justice never prevails.
The wicked hem in the righteous,
so that justice is perverted. 

Habakkuk 2:20 

 20 The Lord is in his holy temple;
let all the earth be silent before him. 

Devotional:

Skittish chickens scattered as relief trucks clattered past the weathered huts of the village. Barefoot children stared. Traffic on this rain-ravaged “road” was rare.

Suddenly, a walled mansion loomed into view of the convoy. It was the mayor’s house—although he didn’t live in it. His people lacked basic necessities, while he lounged in luxury in a distant city.


Such unfairness angers us. It angered God’s prophet too. When Habakkuk saw rampant oppression he asked, “How long, Lord, must I call for help, but you do not listen?” (Hab. 1:2). But God had noticed, and He said, “Woe to him who piles up stolen goods . . . who builds his house by unjust gain!” (2:6, 9). Judgment was coming!We welcome God’s judgment of others, but there’s a pivot point in Habakkuk that gives us pause: “The Lord is in his holy temple; let all the earth be silent before him” (2:20). All the earth. The oppressed along with oppressors. Sometimes the appropriate response to God’s seeming silence is . . . silence!Why silence? Because we easily overlook our own spiritual poverty. Silence allows us to recognize our sinfulness in the presence of a holy God.Habakkuk learned to trust God, and we can too. We don’t know all His ways, but we do know that He is good. Nothing is beyond His control and timing.

Lord, when trouble comes we can pray like Habakkuk, “We have heard of your fame; we stand in awe of your deeds. Repeat them in our day; in our time make them known” (Hab. 3:2).
 The righteous care about justice for the poor, but the wicked have no such concern. Proverbs 29:7 

Insight: 

We sometimes wonder why God allows the kind of pain and suffering that seems to rise above all reason. Six hundred years before Christ, the Jewish prophet Habakkuk wondered the same thing. He struggled to understand how a good God could appear to look the other way while the groaning of Jerusalem’s oppressed weak and poor went unanswered. His doubts deepened when the Lord answered his prayers by telling him that he was going to call in the cruel armies of Babylon to bring the “holy city” to its senses. But Habakkuk didn’t lose his faith. After being honest enough to express his doubts and questions to God, he learned there is a time to surrender in silence before a God who can restore trust to those who wait on Him (2:20)—even when we don’t understand.

In that place of quiet, after pouring out our doubts and complaints to God, we can learn what it means to quietly rest in the One who has in so many ways already shown Himself inexpressibly good and faithful (Hab. 3:17–19). 

Perspective:

There is no where in Scripture where it says that we will all live a trouble-free life. God does not promise it to us in this lifetime. We will definitely witness and be a part of much turmoil and toxic experiences. There is no one exempt from the wrath of sin in this broken World. However, we do know that God is ultimately Good.

While we are still in our trials, we can still see His glory. Although I am sick right now, I believe He is doing a greater Good through it by not allowing me to exercise and push my body past its limits. I think He has deliberately put me into a short season of rest, where I can use it for His further glory and deepening my relationship with Him. This is how I usually see my illness-infested seasons of life. Also, it is a humbling time for me, knowing that my body is not indestructible, and it is fragile and imperfect. O, how we shall look forward to the day where we are put to rest in this World, and are with our Lord forever in Heaven. God's promises bring such peace. May it bring peace to you as well!

In all honesty, I do not think we - in our state - are fully capable of knowing who God truly is, and how He works. This is after our physical death, assuming we have received His gift of salvation. This is why I find theology - the study of God - so amazing! We are deeply rooted in the foundation of the Gospel, that we can remain steadfast in our faith whilst having deep conversations of other aspects of Christianity. I recently (and plan to continue discussing) with a fellow Steemian about Free Will and Predeterminism - a core value of a radical Calvinist. We definitely have different viewpoints of it; but, the great thing about it is - our faith is not shaken! God is still Good. 

Do we definitely know why God made Man with the capabilities of sin, 100%? We can discuss and make our rationalize it as best we can; but at the end of the day, God is above Man. Isaiah 55:8-9 says:

8 “For my thoughts are not your thoughts,
neither are your ways my ways,”
declares the Lord.
“As the heavens are higher than the earth,
so are my ways higher than your ways
and my thoughts than your thoughts. 

So, may we rest in knowing our God is Greater than any trial and tribulation we will experience in this lifetime. Seek the Lord, for there is where we will find true rest.

Health Update: 

@coolbowser recently provided me with some information on eucalyptus oil and its benefits! A big shout out to him :)

Unfortunately, I couldn't find it here in Canada, so I may consider purchasing it online instead (for future seasons of sickness). 

Here are the methods I've used since Monday (where I had my fever), and I think all of them collectively have helped. One stands out the most though:

  • Excessive Doses of Vitamin C: I'm talking 1-2 grams a day! @coolbowser suggested this. I don't think I'll be going past 2 grams though simply because I don't have the specific compound that will inhibit excessive sodium consumption (my Vitamin C at home is just sodium ascorbate). 
  • Raw garlic: Did my research and had around 2-4 cloves of raw garlic. Really helps! I made it into garlic bread by toasting the bread and added some margarine before I placed the raw garlic on top. Caution: This is very spicy, and it'll last a while, so be prepared for bad breath :p 
  • Hot Black Irish Tea: Good to sooth the throat, heat up the body, and encourage phlegm extraction! I also added some Virgin Coconut Oil since it has Lauric Acid, a good compound for helping fight colds (according to my research). 
  • Apple Cider Vinegar with 8 oz of Water: Overall good for health! ACV has amazing benefits.
  • Sleep! This is a must when you have a cold/fever, as it lets your body prepare the battle against the bad cold guys.

Right now my health score would be: 90/100% health! I still have a bit of deep phlegm inside my chest, and still have a case of the sniffles; but, overall it is night and day in comparison to my health back on Monday, where I was only around 20% I would say. 70% increase in health in 4 days? God is good, that is all I can say.

Conclusion:

I hope you were all encouraged by today's devotional and my perspective. If there are any errors, please address them to me below and I will be more than happy to discuss them with you. 


Don't forget to upvote, comment, and resteem if you like this post!

God bless :) 

Sources: 1, 2

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66086.05
ETH 3299.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70