Our purpose as Christians.

Good morning! I hope you all are doing well and resting in God as you enter this weekend. I'd like to talk to you all about our purpose as Christians.

I have already written a little bit about this on my website, the blog entry will be posted Sunday morning. But I've been thinking more and more about this topic.


What is our purpose? The Bible seems to be very clear on that. It gives us the Great Commission many know to be Matthew 28:19-20. Which states

Therefore, go and make taught ones of all the nations, immersing them in the Name of the Father and of the Son and of the Set-apart Spirit, teaching them to guard all that I have commanded you. And see, I am with you always, until the end of the age.” Amĕn. Mattithyahu (Matthew) 28:19‭-‬20 TS2009

What are our priorities though? Are they in our jobs? Our families? Hobbies? It could be anything. But our priority should be Good and his commands. Our job, families, social lives, and everything should be secondary to God. Which is extremely hard to hear for some of us because we are comfortable. But when will we be comfortable in God and what he has us do? When will we not have a problem and blindly follow God because we trust him enough to follow Him without question?

Let's be honest. Most of us when prompted to tell someone about God, but could lose our jobs for it, would most likely keep quiet because we feel "WE" have to provide for our families.

Let me ask you a question... Do we have to provide for our families? Or will God?


I just want to challenge you, whatever you may be going through right now. Start looking for ways to put your complete and undying trust in God. I dare you to test God in this. Start putting trust in Him and start watching as he works in your life like never before.

Sort:  

Realizing God is your provider and not yourself or your job is liberating. If you honor God, he will honor you. I keep the 7 biblical feasts established by God that are found in Leviticus 23 along with the 7th day (Saturday) sabbath. I told my current employer I will not work Saturdays and there are high holy days I would not be working. I straight up told my boss that God is my provider and not him and if I honor God he will honor me. He was kind of taken back by it but it hasnt been an issue.

That's awesome @dwells. I haven't looked into the 7 biblical feasts but I may start doing small things to observe those for myself spiritually. But it seems to have become on a normal basis I am fasting as I see fit. Especially when I feel I need to be extremely close to God (in a time of trouble for instance).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61232.75
ETH 2977.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60