Another form of the Great Commission

Hello my fellow believers.
Happy Sunday to you all. I pray that you all would have peace in your lives on this day and that God would reveal himself to you in new ways.

I would like to give you just some insight into the Great Commission. Everybody knows The Great Commission in Matthew:

Mattithyahu (Matthew) 28:19-20

"Therefore, go and make taught ones of all the nations, immersing them in the Name of the Father and of the Son and of the Set-apart Spirit,
teaching them to guard all that I have commanded you. And see, I am with you always, until the end of the age.” Amĕn."

This is very common. But a lot of people don't know what Mark has to say about the Great Commission. I've had many people come up to me and tell me "I believe that Jesus casted out demons, and even his disciples because they walked with him. But us? Today??? No. I don't think we have the ability. The book of Mark has a little bit to say about this.

Marqos (Mark) 16:16-18

"“And these signs shall accompany the ones who believe: In My Name they shall cast out demons, they shall speak with renewed tongues, “He who has believed and has been immersed, shall be saved, but he who has not believed shall be condemned. they shall take up snakes, and if they drink any deadly drink it shall by no means hurt them, they shall lay hands on the sick and they shall get well.”"

Through this we can see that Jesus is not only blessing his disciples with this knowledge, but that others they teach will also have this "ability". And then by extension, those that THEY teach will still have the same "ability". And so on and so forth. This is seen when Paul, who was not one of the original 12 was bitten by a snake on the shore of Malta. Yes he also wrote much of the New Testament, but at the same time he was no more human than either one of us. He had his own faults as well!


Any comments? Please let me know! If you liked this post please upvote or resteem! Thank you all for your support!

Sort:  

Let me clarify. When I say "ability" I mean... God's power within us. For it is not our own power that let's us do that at all. But it is strictly God in us.

Congratulations @kyalspeaks! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61209.23
ETH 2940.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73