Broken Altar

in #christian-trail7 years ago (edited)

Gen13:3-4 And he went on his journey from the South as far as Bethel, to the place where his tent had been at the beginning, between Bethel and Ai, to the place of the altar which he had made there at first. And there Abram called on the name of the Lord.

prayer-altar.jpg

Abraham missed God by going to Egypt. Thank God, he was able to retrace his steps back to the place he had built an altar to the Lord.

I have come to realize; that the problem is not only the fall but the inability to trace back our step to the place we first met God, to the place we first had victory over that situation. The Bible says "and Abraham went back to the place of the Altar which he first made there at first". This is Inspired by a personal experience that I am about to share with you, I hope it blesses someone.

I have enjoyed victory over a particular besetting sin for over three months now. This sin had held me captive for a very long time before my last victory. One evening as I listened to a sermon by TD Jakes, God showed me a way out of it and I got delivered. God helped me to build an altar around this deliverance, the altar was an altar of grace, I realized God had considered His grace before allowing me to be tempted to commit this particular sin, and that His grace is sufficient to deliver me and to keep me. No wonder the Bible says: a man is not tempted beyond what he can bear, to me, this means there is a measure of grace that is available to a man, for him to overcome that temptation.

The problem started when my altar got broken ​if I would put it correctly; when I became slothful with my prayer life and my cry for grace. Before I could notice I fell back into my sins. But thank God for the Holy Spirit for showing this important lesson from Abraham. He asked me to go back to the place I first had victory. I listened to the same sermon again and prayed the same prayers I prayed before and now I feel delivered again.

Brethren, are you struggling with a major besetting sin? or do you keep losing the battle like me? Or are you struggling with keeping your victory? I want to tell you today that there is a grace available to you. There is a grace that can keep you consistently victorious. All you need to do is to make sure your altar is not broken. The first thing the enemy takes away is your desire to pray, Do not be ignorant of the devices of the enemy, wake up today and go back to the place you first met with the lord. Fix the relationship you first had with the Godhead. I am back to the cross, I am back to where is blood speaks grace.

Sort:  

Bible in Steem. Steeble. Or Bibleem

Congratulations @kennie! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @kennie! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57544.06
ETH 2338.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35