You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: God says Vs. Man says!

This is hard to reply to.
My family has always been Christian (of one denomination or another) and though I may not have made any choices to be Christian while growing up my faith that there is a God has always been true.
I think of 2 examples:

  1. My dad protected me from the Catholic church once when I was 8, when a priest was scolding me for reading the Bible. Yeah. Reading the book they said was important (to not know). he priest argued with my dad about me requiring Catholic seminary in order to understand the Bible properly and that until then we (my family) should just listen to the priest. Either way, my dad never took us back to the Catholic church while we were too young to make our own decisions and taught me the dangers of religion vs. faith.
  2. A cargo van drove through my mom's car when she was driving me to tee-ball practice.
    We had the right of way (no stop-sign), the van did not (had a stop sign). My mom saw the van, thought it would stop, and proceeded without caution; the van did not stop. My mom slammed the brakes.
    My mom describes it best, if our car did not have a windshield, she could have physically touched the van as it drove through our car. I had thought it just cut the front of the car off except there was no damage to the car and the van was nowhere to be seen.
    OK. A third one.
  3. I was 16. My grandmother was driving my mother and I to Oakville. It was a big, blizzardy day, but my family never had problems with a little bit of snow. We were almost at the Fifty Road overpass on the QEW when a red car cut us off, slammed on it's brakes and then took off once our car started skidding out of control. I was laying in the back seat playing Tetris on my Gameboy and was spiritually alerted to this event just prior it happening.
    I do not condone lying, but I totally lied to my mother about my awareness of everything for the purposes of calming her down.
    We started skidding and at 100kph grandma loses control, we're spinning sliding darting always toward the centre, concrete column of the over pass, yeah.
    By this time in my life I knew the power of God, of thought, and of the spoken word. I prayed a short audible, but low whispery prayer: "not that."
    We'll say everything seems closer in an emergency, so we were about 50' from the pillar (seemed closer) and all of a sudden there was a sudden jolt of the car and we were thrown to the other shoulder of the road; but not only that, we were a few hundred feet away from the column now. The skid marks on the snowy road showed we had been pushed back, almost in the opposite direction we were traveling.
    True, we were now facing the wrong way and stuck in the snow bank.
    At this time I start pretending, "What just happened?"
    While my mother and grandmother are trying to figure out how to call someone (cell and car phone were rich-people luxury) or sheer hope someone will come didn't a man in a pick-up show up.
    He got out of his truck and grabbed the chain and just started to set things up to pull the car out of the snow bank. My mother and grandmother was talking to him while he was doing this.
    When the chain was set-up, he hopped in the truck and "pop" the car was out of the snow bank, but still facing the wrong way.
    He hops out of the truck and grandma gives him the keys to the car and he drives the car off, the wrong way on the highway. Now it could have been a bit longer, but it seemed that as soon as the car disappeared into the blowing snow, it was immediately coming back facing the right way on the road.
    He hands the keys back, bids us a safe journey hops in his truck and drives off.
    Mom drove home.

There are many more crazy, awesome stories.

When I tell people about Christianity, I can't tell them that they should decide Christianity because of other people's stories. My experiences are my witness to the work of God in my life. It's all I have personally to talk about.

I hate religion; like HATE it.
Faith is a whole different ballgame.

Reading the Bible for me has helped my faith grow by reading the stories of other people's experiences with God, Jesus.
2Timothy (somewhere) instructs Christians to "rightly divide the Scriptures."
-Again my dad helped me understand this and it makes sense. The older testament in most part is historical. Read it like a history book of things said and done in the past. Isaiah, Jeremiah, Daniel, and a couple others from the prophetic literature, seem to still have some street cred today in connection with the words in Revelation and the extra-biblical, non-canonical, Biblically-supported Book of Enoch.
The newer testament still needs to be divided properly.
As Jesus Himself said on the cross, "It is finished."
Not the Law, but the old covenant with Israel. The new covenant is beginning in 3 days when the Father raises Jesus from the dead as the perfect sacrifice having forgiven all sin of all time.
There's one caveat with this new covenant: it's not automatic. We must choose it. God did not create automatons, but living, breathing, thinking beings.
We must choose to believe in Jesus, and that the Father raised Him from the dead.

So if the Law is not finished, then what does it look like? In this case, I look to the stone; the big 10.
The first 4 imply and indicate to love God with everything you have and the remaining 6 indicate to love His creation, especially humans. It's like God is saying "Don't mess me or mine" but what you say and do will be returned.
Even Jesus uses the words, when replying to the teacher guy: "The 2 greatest commandments are these: Love the Lord your God with all your heart, mind, body, and soul; and the second is like it, love your neighbour as yourself."
This does not mean "treat others as you want to be treated," but it means to "treat others as you treat yourself." The "golden rule" is very selfish.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 66507.45
ETH 3328.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69