Why Do Christians Close Their Eyes while Praying?

in #christian-trail7 years ago

I have asked myself these questions over and over, why do Christians Close Their Eyes while Praying? And even though I was born into a Christian home, most of us don't get to find answers to some of these questions.

IMG_20170818_093745_edit.png
image credit

There are different reasons why Christians Close Their Eyes while Praying but majorly as I have learnt is to avoid distractions and being able to concentrate while Praying.

IMG_20170818_093745_edit1.png
image source

Do you know of other reasons why Christians Close Their Eyes? Please do comment as this will enable us to learn more about our faith. Thank you

Sort:  

I could never do this, and it got me into some trouble when I was a kid. Whenever I close my eyes, a movie starts playing on my eyelids. Usually it's pretty distracting from prayer.

Hahaha, I think it happens to all kids.

You're a wizard at this!

I think it's done by many including myself so we can focus on God better this is especially so when at a meeting to seek and intercede as He leads.

I quite agree with you. Thank you for stopping by

Congratulations @jaynene! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

this is hilarious - I've always challenged this in church settings...Jesus said in Matthew 26:41 "watch and pray"

now the context is obviously talking about more then just opening your eyes - but opening the eyes of your soul/spirit...still comedic that we close our eyes when we pray...

I don't even think or haven't read my Bible to.that level yet where it was stated that we should close our eyes while Praying but in all the motive is good. Thank you for stopping by

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 59020.34
ETH 2514.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47