You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Ancient Wisdom: The Book of Ahikar Part Seven

In the book of Tobit (a part of the Catholic canon), Tobit himself describes Ahikar as his nephew.

Ahikar the son of my brother Anael, was appointed chancellor of the exchequer for the kingdom and given the main ordering of affairs. Ahikar then interceded for me and I was allowed to return to Nineveh, since Ahikar had been chief cupbearer, keeper of the signet, administrator and treasurer under Sennacherib king of Assyria, and Esarhaddon had kept him in office. He was a relation of mine; he was my nephew. Tobit 1:21-22

Tobit is a son of Jacob, of the tribe of Naphtali. That would make Ahikar also of the tribe of Naphtali.

the whole tribe of Naphtali my ancestor broke away from the House of David and from Jerusalem. Tobit 1:4

I thought he was Assyrian, but the book of Tobit records that he is an Israelite, which would make more sense in the context of the story.

I'm going to include this juicy information in future installments! Thank you for asking questions, causing me to dig deeper into the context!

@ironshield

Sort:  

well thank you for explaining and giving us this fascinating look into these writings. I don't know anything about the Catholic canon, is it pretty close to the standard Bible? Also, is Goldmoney something going on here with Steemit? thank you sir!

The Catholic canon is identical, it just includes a few additional books. I'm not sure why they were removed in the Protestant canon. My thought is unless an ancient text contains heresy, if it contains wisdom it's worth reading and learning from. Especially when connected with the God and the people of the bible!

Goldmoney is promoted on Steemit, but it's separate. It's sort of a metals bank account.

@ironshield

Thanks so much for your explanation @ironshield. Sorry it took so long to get back to you, wife and I had to go help a friend with some things. Very interesting about the Catholic canon, I agree with you about the books of wisdom. Have you ever checked out any of the books of commentary written by Jewish Rabbi's from centuries ago? I've heard them mentioned by preachers who say they are amazing in wisdom, insights into the culture of the time and so on.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62784.34
ETH 3337.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47