BIBLE DOCTRINE SURVEY - GOD - THE WORKS OF GOD - MAJOR COVENANTS nr 5

in #christian-trail7 years ago (edited)

BIBLE Study.jpg

I pray that the Holy Spirit will reveal all that we are going to do in this studies.

1 Cor 2: 10 But God has revealed them to us through His Spirit. For the Spirit searches all things, yes, the deep things of God.

If you want to know God to His full extent then I am inviting you to do this studies with me.

NOTE: I know that some of the scripture references in this study are very long, but I want to include it in the study as lots of people don't go read the scripture if they must go read it in the Bible. But some are too long, please go read the recommended chapters as it will give you a better understanding. Please read through it, because only by reading the scripture you can fully understand the covenants.

Major Covenants of God.

God initiated a number of covenants (agreements or contracts) which are disclosed in scripture. Four of these major covenants are explained below because of their great significance in understanding God's overall purpose and plan of redemption.

These four covenants are:

  • Abrahamic Covenant
  • Mosaic Covenant
  • Davidic Covenant
  • The new Covenant

I already did the Abrahamic Covenant and the Mosaic Covenant.

So today we look at the

DAVIDIC COVENANT

The Davidic Covenant is related to the Abrahamic Covenant where God unilaterally and unconditionally promised to keep a King on the throne of Israel forever. (See Genesis 17:1-7)

Genesis 17: 1-7 When Abram was ninety-nine years old, the Lord appeared to Abram and said to him, “I am Almighty God; walk before Me and be blameless. 2 And I will make My covenant between Me and you, and will multiply you exceedingly.” 3 Then Abram fell on his face, and God talked with him, saying: 4 “As for Me, behold, My covenant is with you, and you shall be a father of many nations. 5 No longer shall your name be called Abram, but your name shall be Abraham; for I have made you a father of many nations. 6 I will make you exceedingly fruitful; and I will make nations of you, and kings shall come from you. 7 And I will establish My covenant between Me and you and your descendants after you in their generations, for an everlasting covenant, to be God to you and your descendants after you.

David was this first king and Jesus Christ is the ultimate “Davidic ”King who will reign forever.

DATE About 1000 BC

TEXTS

2 Samuel 7:4-17
But it happened that night that the word of the Lord came to Nathan, saying, 5 “Go and tell My servant David, ‘Thus says the Lord: “Would you build a house for Me to dwell in? 6 For I have not dwelt in a house since the time that I brought the children of Israel up from Egypt, even to this day, but have moved about in a tent and in a tabernacle. 7 Wherever I have moved about with all the children of Israel, have I ever spoken a word to anyone from the tribes of Israel, whom I commanded to shepherd My people Israel, saying, ‘Why have you not built Me a house of cedar?’”’ 8 Now therefore, thus shall you say to My servant David, ‘Thus says the Lord of hosts: “I took you from the sheepfold, from following the sheep, to be ruler over My people, over Israel. 9 And I have been with you wherever you have gone, and have cut off all your enemies from before you, and have made you a great name, like the name of the great men who are on the earth. 10 Moreover I will appoint a place for My people Israel, and will plant them, that they may dwell in a place of their own and move no more; nor shall the sons of wickedness oppress them anymore, as previously, 11 since the time that I commanded judges to be over My people Israel, and have caused you to rest from all your enemies. Also the Lord tells you that He will make you a house.[a]
12 “When your days are fulfilled and you rest with your fathers, I will set up your seed after you, who will come from your body, and I will establish his kingdom. 13 He shall build a house for My name, and I will establish the throne of his kingdom forever. 14 I will be his Father, and he shall be My son. If he commits iniquity, I will chasten him with the rod of men and with the blows of the sons of men. 15 But My mercy shall not depart from him, as I took it from Saul, whom I removed from before you. 16 And your house and your kingdom shall be established forever before you.[b] Your throne shall be established forever.”’”
17 According to all these words and according to all this vision, so Nathan spoke to David.

Psalm 2: 1-12
Why do the nations rage,
And the people plot a vain thing?
2 The kings of the earth set themselves,
And the rulers take counsel together,
Against the Lord and against His Anointed, saying,
3 “Let us break Their bonds in pieces
And cast away Their cords from us.”
4 He who sits in the heavens shall laugh;
The Lord shall hold them in derision.
5 Then He shall speak to them in His wrath,
And distress them in His deep displeasure:
6 “Yet I have set My King
On My holy hill of Zion.”
7 “I will declare the decree:
The Lord has said to Me,
‘You are My Son,
Today I have begotten You.
8 Ask of Me, and I will give You
The nations for Your inheritance,
And the ends of the earth for Your possession.
9 You shall break[a] them with a rod of iron;
You shall dash them to pieces like a potter’s vessel.’”
10 Now therefore, be wise, O kings;
Be instructed, you judges of the earth.
11 Serve the Lord with fear,
And rejoice with trembling.
12 Kiss the Son,[b] lest [c] He be angry,
And you perish in the way,
When His wrath is kindled but a little.
Blessed are all those who put their trust in Him.

Luke 1:26-33
26 Now in the sixth month the angel Gabriel was sent by God to a city of Galilee named Nazareth, 27 to a virgin betrothed to a man whose name was Joseph, of the house of David. The virgin’s name was Mary. 28 And having come in, the angel said to her, “Rejoice, highly favored one, the Lord is with you; blessed are you among women!”[c]
29 But when she saw him,[d] she was troubled at his saying, and considered what manner of greeting this was. 30 Then the angel said to her, “Do not be afraid, Mary, for you have found favor with God. 31 And behold, you will conceive in your womb and bring forth a Son, and shall call His name Jesus. 32 He will be great, and will be called the Son of the Highest; and the Lord God will give Him the throne of His father David. 33 And He will reign over the house of Jacob forever, and of His kingdom there will be no end.”

Revelations 20: 4-6
4 And I saw thrones, and they sat on them, and judgment was committed to them. Then I saw the souls of those who had been beheaded for their witness to Jesus and for the word of God, who had not worshipped the beast or his image, and had not received his mark on their foreheads or on their hands. And they lived and reigned with Christ for a[a] thousand years. 5 But the rest of the dead did not live again until the thousand years were finished. This is the first resurrection. 6 Blessed and holy is he who has part in the first resurrection. Over such the second death has no power, but they shall be priests of God and of Christ, and shall reign with Him a thousand years.

APPLICATION
The full expression of the Davidic Covenant will be seen beginning in the 1000 year reign of Christ on earth (the millennium) and continuing forever.

FEATURES
The Davidic kingship will be everlasting, consisting of a
House
Kingdom
Throne

Samuel 7: 16 And your house and your kingdom shall be established forever before you.[b] Your throne shall be established forever.”’”

I did this Bible School course more than 20 years ago over a period of 2 years, and it is now my privilege to share it with you.

Thank you for reading and studying with me, I am really blessed by your participation!
There will only be an assignment at the end of all the Covenants, but your comments are always appreciated and we can learn from each other too.

Dr Dennis J. Mock: Bible training for church leadership, Bible Doctrine Survey, course no. 4
Scripture: https://www.biblegateway.com/passage - King James Version

Hope777 1 klein.jpg
@hope777

Sort:  

May God increase you and bless you with the bless of Abraham through our Lord Jesus. Amen

Thank you dear @praise-eu. God blessed me so much the day when He saved my soul at the tender age of 12 years. I am so very grateful that I could walk with my Lord and Savior from that time till now!

Praise God he had you at tender age of 12. His grace alone has brought you thus far. I was 14 then and all glory to him.

Also very blessed at a young age. I like to think we were spared a lot of hurt of doing the wrong things, like drugs, alcohol etc. because we were in a relationship with God already!

Yes. It paid off

As always my dear sister, a great study. I came across this verse a few years ago speaking of David why David would always have a king, actually fulfilled in Jesus. But check out this verse!

2Ch 13:5 Ought ye not to know that the LORD God of Israel gave the kingdom over Israel to David for ever, even to him and to his sons by a covenant of salt? KJV

If you read through any translation, it pretty much says the same thing.

I have been looking at and meditating on this verse for years. I believe I only have scratched the surface in understanding this.
God makes a covenant with Abraham! God’s part! Like when Abraham was getting ready to sacrifice Issac. Isaac asked his daddy seeing the wood, the fire, “but where is the sacrifice?” Abraham says, “God will provide himself a lamb” prophetically speaking of when Emmanuel would be offered on the cross. ((Himself).
But now this verse speaks of a covenant of salt! The salt covenant is mentioned a couple of times in the scriptures .

Num 18:19 All the heave offerings of the holy things, which the children of Israel offer unto the LORD, have I given thee, and thy sons and thy daughters with thee, by a statute for ever: it is a covenant of salt for ever before the LORD unto thee and to thy seed with thee.

So even in the wilderness this covenant of salt is mentioned. God speaking directly to the priesthood. No earthy inheritance, but this provision as a covenant of salt. I the Lord am your Inheritance.

As the blood covenant was a covenant initiated by God, I believe the salt covenant is our covenant towards God. Intitiated by us to declare He is our only inheritance. We are not looking for an earthly kingdom. As priests of God (we are a royal priesthood) our focus is heaven, not the comforts of the earth.
David was a doer, a planet changer, a man after God’s own heart, the apple of God’s eye. Because David had a zeal, not just to believe, but that his faith would make a difference.
We are the salt of the earth! We were meant to season the entire earth. Every nation, kindred and tribe.
In the office, where we buy gas, as we sit in a restaurant, like David we can influence for God’s kingdom. Like the Early church we can affect our Juresalem, Judeah, Samaria and the uttermost parts of the world.
The salt covenant people are doers not hearers only.
God’s Word is so deep and amazing.
God bless!
Daddy William

Thank you so much for this contribution. I am going to put this in a separate post after I am finished with the last Covenant I will be doing and that is the New Covenant. Please follow my christian posts on our new page @forgodsglory. Also please read the introduceyourself post! Blessings!

Loading...

Great post ma'am. Covenant of God in the Bible are just rightly divided. God bless you for partitions.

@stevenmosoes

Thank you @stevenmosoes, I appreciate your comment. My future Christian posts will be on this page @forgodsglory. Please follow me there. The page will also be used to curate very good christian posts.

I will enjoy reading these Bible studies to learn more about the covenants of God, thank you for sharing

Thank you @alabaa, I also looked at your blog. Please follow me on my new page @forgodsglory for more christian posts!

Hi @hope777, thank you for these studies, it will take me a while to read them all, may the light of God's word shine in our hearts

Thank you @emiliocabrera. My future bible doctrine posts is going to be on this page @forgodsglory please follow me there, thank you!

Ok thanks you sister

Thank you dear @seyioudus. I haven't read all the posts that were presented, will do so during the day. Please follow me on my new page @forgodsglory.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62227.11
ETH 2400.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50