Learning

in #christian-trail7 years ago (edited)

It's been an interesting week, this first week on Steem. There is so much to learn! So many people contributing. I can see how it could become addictive, but I just don't have that kind of time. So I'm learning to pay attention to people who have followed me (thank you!) and scanning through other posts as I look for my niche here. Right now, I'm most attracted to the Christian-trail, so I thought I'd share a little about myself in regard to my faith in Jesus Christ, and my love for God's Word.

My dad was a preacher, and an outstanding Bible teacher. He had the gift of making the hard things of the Word understandable. From early childhood, a central focus in my life was the church, and I loved it--most of the time :) Come on, nobody's perfect!

I started teaching little kids in Sunday school when I was only 12, and I've been teaching ever since. Not just the Bible, although that's my favorite thing to teach; I became a teacher, and taught in private Christian schools for many years. English and history are my first loves, after the Bible.

But then my husband hit the shocking wall of depression about 22 years ago.

depressionraincloud.jpg

That's another story for another post. I mention it here because it changed my life, too. At age 50, I returned to school to get a master's degree that would allow me to do private-practice counseling in a Christian counseling office. Now, at 70, I'm still working three days each week, still teaching; good counseling is more than just listening, although there's a lot of that. It includes teaching. I love my work.

The Bible is my favorite source of comfort, guidance, encouragement, and common sense. One of my favorite passages for counseling is Philippians 4:4-8. We can learn to rejoice even while we are suffering in some way. God is near. We need to learn moderation. We need to learn to pray about everything, and to think of those things that are just, pure, true, lovely, of good reputation. When we put our minds on Jesus Christ, whatever else we may be experiencing suddenly becomes less hurtful.

I believe with all my heart that God has brought together three great loves in my life: His Word, teaching, and helping hurting people. It just doesn't get any better than that.

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit @granonine70 and thanks for sharing your story with us.

We are blessed to have you with us :-)

Steem on !

Thank you for the upvote from @randowhale :) Had to read about it--still have so much to figure out!

You're welcome :-)

Amen, tnx for sharing a little of your story , c u on the trail :)

Congratulations @granonine70! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60320.14
ETH 3373.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51