You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: This Atheist Spoke Truth

I've heard Penn tell this story before. While I understand the sentiment, it's important to keep in mind that proselytizing some people will have the same effect as pushing them in front of a bus. You can't drag someone into belief.

Still, he makes a solid point about Christians who don't seem to care about the rest of the world.

Sort:  

Thanks so much for commenting @garthfreeman! I guess it depends on your definition of proselytizing. You are right, you can't drag someone into belief because that is the work of the Holy Spirit. Being pushy, arrogant, and unloving can cause some to stumble. But sharing TRUTH in LOVE is what Christ calls me His followers to do.

Yeah, I agree with sharing the truth in love. I guess what I really mean is that you can go around trying to tell everyone you run into about Jesus, but in the end you'll probably do more harm than good with that approach. There needs to be some sort of relationship building going on first, before someone is ready to listen. (I know there are exceptions)

Most people just aren't in a position to hear and understand the message. It's like trying to explain Bitcoin to people for the first time: they just can't wrap their heads around it and you may come off sounding fanatical. I think this is why we have so many people who hate Christians these days. They are just walking along, going about their day and then some Christian comes along and tells them they are a crappy person who is going to burn in hell forever unless you join our group and convince the rest of the world.

I'm just saying... The approach matters. Now, if we were walking around emptying hospital emergency rooms with miraculous healings...

I couldn't agree with you more! Building a relationship can be everything. Walking out our faith in front of others (especially difficult times) is everything. How we love is everything. Still, I can't count how many times I've neglected telling others because it might have been uncomfortable for me.

P.S. Your bitcoin analogy is brilliant because I still can't wrap my head around it all. haha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64192.94
ETH 2764.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65